Golden Rose

Golden Rose

Golden Rose

Date: Saturday 12th September 2015
Track: Rosehill racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1400 metres
Race Type: 3yo – Set Weights
Status: Group 1
Prizemoney: $1,000,000
2014 Winner: Hallowed Crown

The Golden Rose is an exclusive race for three year-olds that is held every year in September at Sydney’s Rosehill Racecourse in New South Wales. The Group 1 event is run under set weights over a sprint distance of 1400M and is the richest race in the Sydney Spring Racing Carnival Valued at a remarkable $ 1,000,000,000 in prize money. For the better part of the last decade, the Golden Rose has grown strength by strength and is now one of the biggest racing events in Australia. Last year’s race was not short of the excitement the Golden Rose has accustomed itself to in recent years.

However, Zoustar carried the day with a strong performance after beating Dissident and Bull Point to second and third respectively. The Golden Rose has showcased quality racing and in 2007, the event was upgraded from a Group 3 event to a Group 2 race only to reach Group 1 Status a year later. Such is the quality of racing in the event and even in 2014 horse trainers and jockeys are looking forward to yet another breathtaking edition of the Golden Rose.

The perfect lead up race for the event is the Group 3 Run to the Race that comes around earlier in the Spring Carnival. In recent years, a number of horses have managed to win the Golden Rose and the Run To The Rose double including Denman back in 2009 and Paratroopers in 2005. Other great curtain raisers for the event include Group 3 races for three year olds The Up and Coming Stakes and the Sliver Shadow Stakes.

Three year olds that perform well in the Golden Rose can also consider progressing into the Newcastle Spring Stakes which comes a month later. In the last decade or so, the Golden Rose has produced a number of great horses that have gone on to make a name in the Sydney and Melbourne Spring Carnivals and other major horse racing events in Australia.

Golden Rose recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Hallowed Crown Scissor Kick Shooting To WIn 1:24.0
2013 Zoustar Dissident Bull Point 1:22.5
2012 Epaulette Albrecht Ashokan 1:22.3
2011 Manawanui Smart Missile Helmet 1:23.3
2010 Toorak Toff Squamosa Ilovethiscity 1:21.9
2009 Denman Trusting Stryker 1:22.8
2008 Forensics El Cambio Kingda Ka 1:22.4
2007 Race Not Run
2006 Court Command Empires Choice Mentality 1:23.1
2005 Paratroopers Racing To Win Pendragon 1:23.5
2004 Doonan Al Maher Lieutenant 1:23.1
2003 In Top Swing Handsome Ransom Ashenti 1:24.0