Gloaming Stakes

Gloaming Stakes

Gloaming Stakes

Date: Saturday 26th September 2015
Track: Rosehill racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1800 metres
Race Type: 3yo – Set Weights
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $200,000
2014 Winner: Sweynesse

The Gloaming Stakes is a middle distance race run over 1800M at Sydney’s Rosehill Racecourse in New South Wales. The event is exclusive to three-year-olds and is run under set weights. The Group 3 race is worth up to $200,000 in prize money making it one of the most expensive races in this Group 3 category. Although in recent years the race rarely attracts classy and elite horses, the event has consistently showcased new and emerging talent from different parts of the country. The 2013 race was proudly won by Complacent after producing a great run to beat Savvy Nature and Drago to second and third respectively.

The Gloaming Stakes features along a number of exciting races on the same day. Notable events to look out for include the Group 2 Stan Fox Stakes and The Group 2 Shannon Stakes. The event is seen by a lot of jockeys and horse trainers as the best build up towards the Group 1 Spring Champion Stakes run over 2000M on the latter stages of the Spring Carnival. The latest winners of the Gloaming Stakes and the Spring Champion Stakes double include It’s a Dundeel back in 2012 and Complacent last year.

In its proud history, the Gloaming Stakes has produced some notable horses some of who have grown to become super stars of the turf. Retrieve back in 2010 emerged from a Gloaming Stakes victory to claim the Group 2 Norman Robinson Stakes at Caulfield. The same success was also replicated by Pendragon in 2005. Tuesday Joy on the other hand finished second in the race on course towards victory in the Group 2 Wakeful Stakes during the Melbourne Spring.

In recent years, the Gloaming Stakes is normally won by in form and quality horses and rarely do we get a surprise winner. The Gloaming Stakes is considered the perfect Group 3 race for elite horses in the Sydney Spring. The event is expected to attract huge crowds this year and based on the quality racing it has showcased in its history, you can expect nothing less.

Gloaming Stakes recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Sweynesse Diamond Valores Pounamu 1:49.4
2013 Complacent Savvy Nature Drago 1:49.1
2012 It’s A Dundeel Honorius Lunar Rise 1:50.5
2011 Strike The Stars Doctor Doom King’s Pact 1:49.0
2010 Retrieve Erewhon Praecido 1:48.2
2009 So You Think Gathering Heraklion 1:50.8
2008 Predatory Pricer Stalingrad Fight And Defend 1:51.9
2007 Race Not Run
2006 All Black Gold Tuesday Joy Sermon 1:49.2
2005 Pendragon Power Of Destiny Duelled 1:50.4
2004 Al Maher Savabeel Outback Prince 1:49.3
2003 Tsuimai Terracotta Bay Square One 1:49.6
2002 Maskerado Platinum Scissors Sportsman 1:57.0
2001 Courvoisier Excellerator Silk Veil 1:49.7
2000 Go Bint Dandify Danachenka 1:59.4
1999 Fairway Royal Integrity Cheverny 1:56.3
1998 Arena Franklin Rivers Lawyer 1:55.4
1997 Tie The Knot Irish Air Southbend 1:56.9
1996 Magic Of Sydney El Tasman Toledo 1:56.9
1995 Classy Fella Super Slew Recalcitrance 1:55.9
1994 Brave Warrior Danewin Breathtaker 2:00.5
1993 Constant Flight March Hare Arborea 1:57.4
1992 Air Seattle Telesto Takeshi 1:57.9
1991 Big Dreams Kinjite Gad’S Hill 1:58.3
1990 Lord Revenir St. Jude Power Base 1:55.3
1989 Stargazer Cool Credit Stylish Century 1:58.2
1988 Run Straight Run Swiftly Carson Brinney 1:55.0