Gilgai Stakes

Blazer Stakes

Gilgai Stakes

Date: Saturday 3rd October 2015
Track: Flemington racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1200 metres
Race Type: 3yo&Up – Set Weights + Penalty
Status: Group 2
Prizemoney: $250,000
2014 Winner: Chautauqua

The Gilgai Stakes is an exciting Group 2 race exclusive to three year old and above horses only. The event is part of the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival and is held at the Flemington Racecourse every year. The Gilgai Stakes is run under set weights over a distance of 1200M making it one of the most exclusive Group 2 sprint race for three year old horses. The race is today worth up to $250,000 in prize money and over the last few decades, the Gilgai Stakes has grown remarkably to become one of the most popular races in the Melbourne Spring.

The 2013 edition of the Gilgai Stakes was graciously won by Platelet after outclassing a number of quality opponents in what was a highly entertaining sprint. Spirit of Boom and Steps in Time both had to settle for second and third respectively. The event will feature on the same day as the Group 1 Turnbull Stakes in this year’s Melbourne Spring and that should be a great line up for horse racing enthusiasts. In recent years, the Gilgai Stakes has in most cases assembled above average and talented sprinters.

Three year olds that perform well in this event can consider running in the Group 2 Salinger Stakes or even the Patinack Farm Classic. Both these races come a few weeks after the Gilgai Stakes. The race has done remarkably well over the last few years to produce a number of high profile champions most of who have made it big in other horse races. Last year for example, Spirit of Boom finished second in the race on course towards an easy win in the Group 2 Caulfield Sprint.

Hallowell Belle in 2012 came close to a Gilgai Stakes and Salinger Stakes double after finishing third in the latter just a few weeks after winning the Gilgai Stakes. All Silent however did exemplary well in 2008 taking home the Gilgai Stakes and the Patinack Farm Stakes. The same feat was also replicated by Swick back in 2008. The quality and talent on display at the Gilgai Stakes is always breathtaking and even in 2104 the race is expected to be a major highlight for a lot of horse racing fans.

Gilgai Stakes recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Chautauqua Bounding Final Crescendo 1:08.2
2013 Platelet Spirit Of Boom Steps In Time 1:10.1
2012 Hallowell Belle King’s Rose Spirit Of Boom 1:08.8
2011 Temple Of Boom Sistine Angel Response 1:10.5
2010 Hay List Catapulted Chasm 1:08.2
2009 All Silent First Command Light Fantastic 1:09.8
2008 El Cambio Swick Murtajill 1:10.1
2007 Stanzout Shadoways Valedictum 1:10.4
2006 Fast N Famous Shadoways Dance Hero 1:08.3
2005 Falkirk Glamour Puss Recapitalize 1:07.9
2004 Recapitalize Falkirk Amtrak 1:09.2
2003 Bomber Bill Mr. Magoo Red Labelle 1:09.7
2002 Cosmic Strike Strategic Image Rubitano 1:09.3
2001 Belle Du Jour Point Danger Gold Class 1:10.4
2000 Bomber Bill Sports Umrum 1:08.6
1999 Black Bean Cannyanna Star Joe 1:09.8
1998 Rebel Dantelah Classic Day 1:09.6
1997 Rock You Always A Chance Wry Hero 1:09.5
1996 Poetic King Lion Hunter Rubidium 1:12.0
1995 Racer’s Edge Rullene I Love Sydney 1:10.2
1994 Hareeba You Remember Simonstad 1:09.5
1993 Simonstad Danjiki Vladazair 1:10.8
1992 Storaia Tanjian Prince Tea Habit 1:09.2
1991 Vain Sovereign Redelva Mister Till 1:09.1
1990 Joanne Redelva Grandiose 1:09.1
1989 Grandiose Redelva Dark Beau 1:08.7
1988 Redelva Jet Fighter Franklin Pride 1:11.0