George Ryder Stakes

The George Ryder Stakes

George Ryder Stakes

Date: Saturday 21st March 2015
Track: Rosehill racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1500 metres
Race Type: Weight-for-age
Status: Group 1
Prizemoney: $1,000,000
2014 Winner: Gordon Lord Byron

The George Ryder Stakes is a breathtaking 1500m weight-for-age race. The event is normally held at the Rosehill racecourse every year in March and in recent years, the George Ryder Stakes has attracted some of the top mares in Australia and beyond. The prize money for this race is $1million. Last year, the competitive nature of the George Ryder Stakes brought with it immense excitement but at the end, Pierro took it. Following in second and third respectively was the King Mufhasa and the Shoot Out.

Winners at the George Ryder Stakes are exempted from the ballot for the group 1 $3 million Doncaster Handicap. The George Ryder Stakes is an exciting prospect in horse racing and features a long the group 1 Galaxy race and The Rosehill Guineas. The three races provide an interesting curtain raiser for the big Group 1 Golden Slipper Stakes that takes place a week later on the same venue. The history of the George Ryder Stakes shows that only classy and top class horses have managed to triumph and such is the nature of the competition every year at the Rosehill Racecourse.

The race has over the years been endowed by the best thoroughbreds in Australia including Pierro in 2013, Lonhro in 2004 and Schillaci in 1993. The George Ryder Stakes is an ideal lead up race for the Doncaster Handicap. In addition to this, Horses that do well in the George Ryder Stakes can also participate in Randwick’s Feature races including the Big Money Queen Elizabeth Stakes and the Group 1 All Aged Stakes.
In this year’s Sydney Autumn Carnival, the George Ryder Stakes promises an exciting field day of horse racing at Rosehill and just like in yester years, only the best horses can triumph. The race will feature along group 2 races such as the Ajax Stakes, The Pago Pago Stakes, and the Magic Night Stakes. Group 3 events that will feature on the same day include The NE Manion Cup and the Epona Stakes.

George Ryder Stakes recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Gordon Lord Byron Speediness El Roca 1:30.9
2013 Pierro King Mufhasa Shoot Out 1:31.0
2012 Metal Bender Rekindled Interest Secret Admirer 1:28.8
2011 Rangirangdoo Love Conquers All Triple Elegance 1:29.4
2010 Danleigh Dao Dao King Mufhasa 1:30.2
2009 Vision And Power Black Piranha King Mustafa 1.31:5
2008 Weekend Hussler Racing To Win Casino Prince 1:31.7
2007 Haradasun Mentality Apache Cat 1:29.2
2006 Racing To Win Paratroopers Lad Of The Manor 1:27.8
2005 Court’s In Session Patezza Sky Cuddle 1:28.5
2004 Lonhro Grand Armee Private Steer 1:27.2
2003 Lonhro Dash For Cash Defier 1:30.7
2002 Lord Essex Shogun Lodge Crawl 1:29.5
2001 Landsighting Shogun Lodge Crawl 1:27.6
2000 Al Mansour Bonanova Hire 1:30.5
1999 Referral Juggler Mossman 1:28.2
1998 Quick Flick Encounter Blazing Steel 1:28.9
1997 Mouawad Shame Secret Savings 1:27.7
1996 Ravarda Encores Flying Spur 1:27.8
1995 March Hare Brave Warrior Pharaoh 1:27.3
1994 Telesto Golden Sword Big Dreams 1:29.6
1993 Schillaci Soho Square Primacy 1:29.0
1992 Kinjite Big Dreams Prince Salieri 1:31.2
1991 Bureaucracy Comrade Stylish Century 1:28.0
1990 Straussbrook Comrade Don’t Play 1:32.9
1989 Wong Flotilla Kensei 1:31.1
1988 Campaign King Star Sunrise Wong 1:28.0