Geelong Cup


Geelong Cup

Date: Wednesday 21st October 2015
Track: Geelong racecourse, Geelong
Distance: 2400 metres
Race Type: Open Handicap
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $300,000
2014 Winner: Caravan Rolls On

The Geelong Cup is a competitive and one the premier long distance Group 3 races in the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival. The race is held yearly in midweek October at the Geelong Racecourse in Victoria. With a purse of up to $300,000 in prize money, the Geelong Cup is one of the richest group 3 races attracting some of the finest long distance runners from different parts of the country. The race is run over 2400M and in 2013, it was Gatewood who carried the day after producing a resilient and strong run to take home the Geelong Cup title.

Coming through to take second and third in that order was Chateau Margaux and Brigantin. The Geelong Cup is actually one of the few races held outside the city of Melbourne. The event is staged at the Geelong Racehorse which is located on the South West of Melbourne about 72KM from the city center. A lot of horse trainers consider the race as one of the toughest country cups and in recent years, winners in this race have gone on to do absolutely remarkable in the Melbourne Cup.

Some remarkable horses to emerge from this race include the Outstanding Bauer who came from a hard earned victory in this race only to lose by a narrow margin in the Melbourne Cup. In 2011, Dunaden completed a glorious victory in the Melbourne Cup just a few weeks after taking home the Geelong Cup. The same success was also replicated by Americain a year earlier in 2010.

On the other hand, Moatise was also on hand to record an easy victory in the Group 2 Lexus Stakes after finishing second in the Geelong Cup back in 2008. The quality and talent on show in this race has never felt short of expectation and even in years to come, the Geelong Cup will continue to breed remarkable super stars of the turf. Other notable horses to win the race include The Buzz who took home the title in 2007, Mandela in 2006 and Pacific Dancer in 2004.

Geelong Cup recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Caravan Rolls On Marksmanship Like A Carousel 2:31.2
2013 Ibicenco Verdant Moudre 2:35.1
2012 Gatewood Chateau Margaux Brigantin 2:34.1
2011 Dunaden Tanby Bauer 2:30.1
2010 Americain Moudre Exceptionally 2:30.3
2009 Leica Ding Dandaad Sterling Prince 2:27.5
2008 Bauer Moatize Magic Instinct 2.30:1
2007 The Fuzz Zavite Desert Master 2:27.0
2006 Mandela Vanquished Dacs Back 2:28.2
2005 On A Jeune Brave Lancer Men At Work 2:26.7
2004 Pacific Dancer Devastating Diamond Jake 2:26.5
2003 Zazzman Shes Archie Tumeric 2:30.0
2002 Media Puzzle (USA) Requiem Donarch 2:25.9
2001 Karasi (Ire.) Maythehorsebewithu Scrumptious 2:32.0
2000 Savrocca Apache King Bulkhead 2:29.9
1999 Bohemiath Oregon Star Lady Elsie 2:29.1
1998 Ancient City Oregon Star True And Easy 2:27.8
1997 Oregon Star Scrupulous Sunny Lane 2:31.1
1996 Hereditas Aphasia =2 True Identity =2 2:28.9
1995 Anfitrion Section Coachwood 2:30.7
1994 Grass Valley Toll Bell Paxmat Will 2:30.5
1993 Ultimate Aim Kawtuban Ancient Ritual 2:28.8
1992 Ali Boy Notwithstanding Mr. Eurostar 2:30.2
1991 Newbury Star Karawin Diego 2:27.2
1990 Mr Brooker Spring Thaw Fame The Spur 2:29.3
1989 Sea Legend =1 Pacific Mirage =1 Island Spy 2:31.2
1988 Our Classic Boy Ebeli Show Bronze Knight 2:28.8