The Galaxy

The Galaxy.jpg

The Galaxy

Date: Saturday 21st March 2015
Track: Rosehill racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1100 metres
Race Type: Open Handicap
Status: Group 1
Prizemoney: $350,000
2014 Winner: Tiger Tees

The Galaxy is one of the most popular open handicap races in the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival. The group 1 race is worth $350,000 and is raced over a distance of 1100M. The Galaxy is held every year in April at the Rosehill racecourse in Sydney. The race is one of the featured and most anticipated sprint events at the Sydney Autumn. This year though horse trainers and owners are looking forward to a breathtaking competition that will attract some of the best mares Australia has to offer. The Galaxy is the perfect stage for accomplished sprinters.

The race will feature on the first day of Rosehill’s Autumn Carnival along with the George Ryder Stakes and the Rosehill Guineas. Over the last few years, The Galaxy has seen some of the best horses emerge triumphant. Some of the most amazing horses include the Bel Sprinter, which is the current champion. Other notable horses include the Typhoon Zed in 2008, Nicconi in 2009 and The Spark of Life in 2004.

A lot of horse trainers and owners acknowledge that The Galaxy is one of the most exciting races in the Sydney Autumn. The best lead up race for this event is the Group 2 Challenge Stakes. However, there hasn’t been any mare which has managed to claim The Galaxy and The Challenge Stakes double in recent years although a number of sprinters have come close to that success.

The closest was the Smart sprinter Snitzerland which took the Challenge Stakes but finished second on The Galaxy Race. The 2014 Sydney Autumn is bigger and better yet even so, one of the most anticipated sprint races in the event is The Galaxy. The showpiece is set to offer horse racing enthusiasts an exciting experience and a breathtaking display of some of the best horse sprinters in the country.

The Galaxy recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Tiger Tees Anatina Villa Verde 1:12.2
2013 Bel Sprinter Snitzerland Decision Time 1:02.8
2012 Temple Of Boom Nobby Snip Ladys Angel 1:03.4
2011 Atomic Force Thankgodyou’rehere Cardinal Virtue 1:05.3
2010 Shellscrape Swift Alliance Stryker 1:03.2
2009 Nicconi Danleigh Gold Trail 1:03.5
2008 Typhoon Zed Keen Commander Fritzs Princess 1:04.1
2007 Magnus Fast n Famous Macs Tune 1:03.2
2006 Proprietor Media Black Ink 1:03.1
2005 Charge Forward Spark Of Life Red Oog 1:04.7
2004 Spark Of Life Taikun Blessum 1:03.7
2003 Snowland Star Of Florida Bradshaw 1:04.5
2002 Mistegic Century Kid Excellerator 1:02.7
2001 Padstow Camena Catatonic 1:04.0
2000 Black Bean Commands Padstow 1:02.9
1999 Masked Party Notoire Rebel Rock 1:06.4
1998 La Baraka Masked Party Coogee Walk 1:03.7
1997 Accomplice Intergaze Unison 1:02.3
1996 Gold Ace Identikit Moss Rocket 1:02.8
1995 Magic Of Money Miss Kariba The Heavyweight 1:04.4
1994 Jetball Brawny Spirit Sympose 1:05.0
1993 Sublimate Classic Magic Mookta 1:03.6
1992 Schillaci Friends Venture Euclase 1:03.9
1991 Mr Tiz Varikos With Me 1:04.0
1990 Potrero Select Prince Good Old Ted 1:09.1
1989 Targlish Magic Gleam Ima Carpenter 1:06.7
1988 Snippets Isomer Magic Gleam 1:06.5