Furious Stakes

Furious Stakes

Furious Stakes

Date: Saturday 5th September 2015
Track: Randwick racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1200 metres
Race Type: 3yo Fillies – Set Weights
Status: Group 2
Prizemoney: $175,000
2014 Winner: Winx

The Furious Stakes is an exclusive three year-old fillies’ race that takes center stage in the Sydney Spring Racing Carnival. The race is a Group 2 event run under set weight conditions over a Sprint distance of 1200M. The Furious Stakes is worth up to $175,000 in prize money and in 2013, Bound For Earth was the proud winner in this race with Guelph and Thump settling for second and third respectively. The event is held every year at the Randwick Racecourse in Sydney, New South Wales.

The distance of the Furious Stakes was reduced for this season from 1400M to 1200M to promote better racing especially considering the event is a major Group 2 Sprint race. The race also takes place on the same day as three exciting Group 2 races that include The Tramway Quality Hcp, The Chelmsford Stakes and The ever green Concorde Stakes. For the better part of the last few years, the Furious Stakes has time and again assembled quality sprinters. The ideal lead up race for the event is the Group 2 Silver Shadow Stakes which is held four weeks earlier at the Warwick Farm Racecourse.

As for fillies that do well in the race, the Group 2 Tea Rose Stakes is an ideal progression. The Furious Stakes is also seen by a lot of horse trainers and jockeys as the idea build up race for the Flight Stakes and The Epsom Handicap which are both some of the major Group 1 races for fillies in the Sydney Spring Carnival. A number of high quality fillies have emerged from the event some of which have also gone on to win the Furious Stakes and the Silver Shadow Stakes double.

Notable fillies to record this remarkable triumph include Samantha Miss back in 2008 and Victory Vein in 2002. Streama in 2011 also completed a Furious Stakes and Tea Rose Stakes double with Shamekha in 2003 and Mnemosyne back in 2005 also recording victories in these two events. Other notable fillies to win the Furious Stakes include Dear Demi in 2012 and the outstanding Prisoner of Love in 2004.

Furious Stakes recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Winx Alpha Miss Earthquake 1:11.9
2013 Bound For Earth Guelph Thump 1:09.0
2012 Dear Demi Meidung Jade Marauder 1:22.9
2011 Streama Florentina Detours 1:25.0
2010 More Strawberries Divorces Parables 1:27.0
2009 Melito Hurtle Myrtle Lovemelikearock 1:21.5
2008 Samantha Miss Love and Kisses Portillo 1:26.2
2007 Race Not Run
2006 Just Dancing My Lady’s Chamber Gallant Tess 1:26.6
2005 Mnemosyne Media Permissive 1:22.6
2004 Prisoner of Love Wager Our Sweet Moss 1:23.1
2003 Shamekha Regimental Gal Spurcent 1:22.4
2002 Victory Vein Royal Purler Lavishly 1:24.2
2001 Moonflute Hosannah Ha Ha 1:25.1
2000 Unworldly Money Begets Money Preserve 1:22.6
1999 Danglissa Forest Express Katima 1:23.4
1998 Sunline Zaroyle Witchita 1:27.3
1997 Stella Cadente Soul Queen Stay Lucky 1:27.3
1996 Dashing Eagle Assertive Lass Cashier 1:22.9
1995 Seattle Gem Seika Night Club 1:26.4
1994 Danarani Street Theatre Aragen 1:23.7
1993 Angst Sashed Fitting 1:24.0
1992 Yodelay Skating Flitter 1:23.1
1991 Bold Promise Temple Fire Rouquin 1:25.6
1990 Twiglet Triscay Whisked 1:22.9
1989 Tristanagh Reverse Pass A Little Kiss 1:23.1
1988 Research Glenview Grey Fille 1:24.4