Frank Packer Plate

Frank Packer Plate

Frank Packer Plate

Date: Saturday 18th April 2015
Track: Randwick racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 2000 metres
Race Type: 3yo – Set Weights
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $175,000
2014 Winner: Arabian Gold

The Frank Packer Plate is a breathtaking middle distance race that takes center stage on the last day of the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival. The event is a Group 3 race run under set weight conditions over a distance of 2000M. The Frank Packer Plate is held annually in April at Sydney’s Randwick Racecourse in New South Wales and is one of the major Group 3 races for three year olds. The 2013 edition of the Frank Packer Plate was won by Usainity.

Honorius and Kingdoms came close in second and third respectively in what was a competitive and closely contested race. The Frank Packer Plate is currently worth $175,000 in prize money and is named after former AJC committeeman Sir Frank Packer. The race features on the same day as a number of great races including Group 1 events The All Aged Stakes and The ATC Champagne Stakes.

A lot of horse trainers and owners look at the Frank Packer Plate as the perfect event for horses that found it difficult to compete in other bigger middle distance races such as the ATC Australian Derby and the Australian Oaks. In that case, the event tends to assemble a good list of above average horses of equal standing and this just serves to make it very competitive. A number of super star three year olds however have emerged from the Frank Packer Plate.

Notable horses include Might and Power back in 1997 as well as The Juggler in 1995. The idea lead-up races for the Frank Packer Plate include the Group 3 Adrian Knox Stakes and the Group 2 Tulloch Stakes. For the better part of the last decade, The Frank Packer Plate has grown significantly and is today a major race in the Australian horse racing calendar. Other notable horses to win the race include Shootoff in 2011 and Dariana in 2010.

Frank Packer Plate recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Arabian Gold Pheidon Malice 2:06.5
2013 Usainity Honorius Kingdoms 2:04.8
2012 Fat Al Ambidexter Rekindled Alliance 2:04.2
2011 Shootoff Happy Trails Muirfield 2:07.7
2010 Dariana Euphemism Viking Hero 2:04.7
2009 Yallingup Orca Merensky Reef 2:05.8
2008 Rockwood Moatize Imvula 2:05.2
2007 Carnegie House Empire Choice Deloraine 2:06.8
2006 Dream Machine Born To Rule Super Lacuma 2:04.3
2005 Afraah Magnetism Eremein 2:04.8
2004 Red Terror Point Of Honour Running Rich 2:02.3
2003 Clangalang So Assertive Al Megdam 2:03.8
2002 Arlington Road On A High Navy Blue 2:02.4
2001 Spurred On Heeby Reiby Life Is Beautiful 2:04.6
2000 Freemason Perfect Paradise Crawl 2:06.7
1999 Franklin River Le Zagaletta Able Master 2:05.6
1998 Dodge Marsking Adam 2:05.5
1997 Might And Power Sakti Seeing Stars 2:02.8
1996 Mr Piper Pay Back Time Delinquent 2:05.1
1995 Juggler Glide Away Law Of The Land 2:05.4
1994 Espinosa Star Dancer Darbaas 2:03.6
1993 Play Or Pay Innocent King Palace Symphony 2:05.4
1992 In The Event Conshana Silk Ali 2:03.6
1991 Bold Rancher New Acquaintance Derecho 2:01.7
1990 Stargazer Snowplough Fastarc 2:13.7
1989 Royal Pardon Outgun Gold Mace 2:13.1
1988 Serestrina Harlan Star Great Quest 2:11.9