The Expressway Stakes

The Expressway Stakes.jpg

The Expressway Stakes

Date: Saturday 31st January 2015
Track: Rosehill racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1200 metres
Race Type: Weight-for-age
Status: Group 2
Prizemoney: $200,000
2014 Winner: Appearance

In February of every year, the group 2 weight-for-age race, The Expressway Stakes comes to Randwick racecourse in Sidney, New south Wales. A 1200 metres distance is covered in the race and the price money to be worn is a total of $200, 000. In this year’s event, Appearance was the proud winner of The Expressway Stakes with River Lad and Sizzling taking second and third respectively.

The race made a return to Randwick this year after it was held in Warwick Farm in 2013. The race is the one thing a lot of people look forward to in the New Year. The Expressway Stakes is the first Group 2 race in the Sydney Autumn. The event is always a perfect platform for sprinters or returning stars of the turf.

Some examples of notable horses who have won the race the over years are The Rain Affair in 2012, Lonhro in 2003, saintly in 1996, Joanne in 1992 and At Sea in 1988. The distance of the race is ideal for good mares who might want to use the event as a level step for potential feature races during the Sidney Autumn Racing Carnival. The carnival is a major event worth to advise anyone to attend for the overall horse racing entertainment.

The Expressway Stakes gives contesting horses in the race a great opportunity to gauge their abilities should they continue on to the Gr2 Apollo stakes which comes later in the month. The two races have some similar characteristics and the only difference is that Gr2 Apollo Stakes is longer in distance compared to The Expressway Stakes. This year has been remarkable for some horses like Appearance (2014) who returned from a breathtaking spring spell to claim the spoils in this race. Recent Expressway Stakes winners include the Happy Galaxy in 2013 and Rain Affair a year earlier.

Expressway Stakes recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Appearance River Lad Sizzling 1:09.0
2013 Happy Galaxy Skytrain Centennial Park 1:22.8
2012 Rain Affair Centennial Park Shoot Out 1:10.7
2011 Centennial Park Love Conquers All Hot Danish 1:10.2
2010 Rangirangdoo Dao Dao McClintock 1:12.6
2009 Burdekin Blues Gold Trail Hurried Choice 1:09.7
2008 Paratroopers He’s Canny Sniper’s Bullet 1:09.6
2007 Mentality Fashions Afield More Than Lucky 1:10.0
2006 Court’s In Session Shania Dane Primus 1:09.1
2005 Court’s In Session Our Egyptian Raine Grand Armee 1:09.5
2004 Sportsman Thorn Park Excellerator 1:08.4
2003 Lonhro Belle Du Jour Carael Boy 1:10.7
2002 Ateates Viscount Caissa 1:11.2
2001 Tie The Knot Referral Landsighting 1:10.0
2000 Mr Innocent Adam Commands 1:09.3
1999 Kidman’s Cove General Nediym Tie The Knot 1:10.1
1998 Hockney Masked Party Irish Air 1:15.9
1997 Cangronde Juggler Alsolaire 1:04.9
1996 Saintly Juggler Star Dancer 1:09.9
1995 Moss Rocket Big Dreams Pharaoh 1:10.9
1994 Soho Square Big Dreams All Our Mob 1:10.2
1993 Let’s Hurry Kinjite Office 1:09.7
1992 Joanne All Archie Burrendah Boy 1:14.1
1991 Potrero Livistona Lane Magic Gleam 1:11.2
1990 Race Not Run
1989 Groucho At Sea Campaign King 1:09.3
1988 At Sea Prince Anton Omnicorp 1:09.1