Edward Manifold Stakes

Edward Manifold Stakes

Edward Manifold Stakes

Date: Saturday 3rd October 2015
Track: Flemington racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1600 metres
Race Type: 3yo Fillies – Set Weights
Status: Group 2
Prizemoney: $250,000
2014 Winner: Fontein Ruby

The Edward Manifold Stakes is an exclusive three year old filly’s only Group 2 race held every year at Melbourne’s Flemington Racecourse in Victoria, South East Australia. The event is run under set weights over a distance of 1600M and is regarded as one of the most competitive Group 2 Sprint races in the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival. The Edward Manifold Stakes is today worth up to $250,000 in prize money and in recent years the event has done exceptionally well to assemble a field of quality and above average sprinters from different parts of the country.

Su Sauver was the proud winner of the 2013 edition of the Edward Manifold Stakes after outclassing a number of able sprinters. Star Fashion had to settle in second despite a strong run with Solicit coming through to take home the third place. The Edward Manifold Stakes is the first exclusive race for fillies in the Melbourne Spring and is held on the same day as the Group 1 Turnbull Stakes. Fillies that perform well in this race often move on to the Group 1 Thousand Guineas which is the premier race for fillies in the Carnival. A number of horses have won the Edward Manifold Stakes and the Thousand Guineas in the same year.

Most recently though Gallica capped a strong start to the 2008 Melbourne Spring with breathtaking victories in both these races. Alinghi and Special Harmony also completed the same feat in 2004 and 2003 respectively. The Edward Manifold Stakes has never been short of exciting and emerging super stars of the turf. Commanding Jewel ran third in the Edward Manifold Stakes but would go on to win the Thousand Guineas a few weeks later back in 2012.

Brazilian Pulse however is the most revered performer to emerge from the Edward Manifold Stakes in recent years. After winning the race in 2010, the filly did exemplary well to win the Crown Oaks, The Wakeful Stakes and also managed a respectable second place finish in the Thousand Guineas. The quality of racing on show at the Edward Manifold Stakes is breathtaking and the race is expected to light up the 2014 Melbourne Spring in spectacular style.

Edward Manifold Stakes recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Fontein Ruby Maastricht Crafty 1:37.6
2013 Su Sauver Star Fashion Solicit 1:39.5
2012 Maybe Discreet Members Joy Commanding Jewel 1:37.6
2011 Mosheen Bliss Street Celebrity Girl 1:39.4
2010 Sistine Angel Brazilian Pulse Shamrocker 1:38.1
2009 Majestic Music Fomalite Silent Surround 1:38.3
2008 Gallica Cats Whisker Sparks Fly 1:38.0
2007 El Daana Serious Speed Absolut Glam 1:40.1
2006 She Will Be Loved Miss Finland My Only Hope 1:37.0
2005 Serenade Rose Empress Lily Mary Marvel 1:37.2
2004 Alinghi Ballet Society Kylikwong 1:36.4
2003 Special Harmony Ashenti Bahamian Star 1:38.2
2002 Coupe Fuji Dancer Lashed 1:39.4
2001 Ugachuka Li Lo Lill Hot Beat 1:38.7
2000 So Gorgeous Shelbourne Lass Dashing Granada 1:37.9
1999 My Sienna Sayer Road Gilded Angel 1:39.3
1998 Inaflury Rose Of Dane Astralita 1:40.1
1997 Rose Of Danehill Melinte Kensington Palace 1:38.9
1996 Ascorbic Calm Abiding Fairway Lass 1:44.4
1995 Rubidium Not On Friday Arctic Scent 1:35.7
1994 Love Of Mary Captiva Wild Thunder 1:37.1
1993 Brompton Cross Kapchat Tristalove 1:38.9
1992 Azzurro Dhokeep Our Tristalight 1:36.9
1991 Richfield Lady Lovey Lusty Habit 1:36.4
1990 Twiglet Mahaasin Clare’s Girl 1:38.2
1989 French Gypsy Dual Treasures Dalmator 1:36.7
1988 Riverina Charm Lady Of Battle Startling Lass 1:36.9