Eclipse Stakes

Begonia Belle Stakes

Eclipse Stakes

Date: Saturday 14th November 2015
Track: Sandown racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1800 metres
Race Type: Quality Handicap
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $125,000
2013 Winner: Mouro

The Eclipse Stakes is a popular and intensive quality handicap Group 3 race that takes center stage every year at the Sundown Racecourse in Melbourne Australia. The event is a perfect middle distance race run over a distance of 1800M. The Eclipse Stakes is one of the few major races that are held at the closing stages of the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival and for the better part of its illustrious history, the race has grown remarkably and is today a popular showpiece in Australian horse racing.

The 2013 edition of the Eclipse Stakes was epic and scintillating to say the least. The talented Mouro capped a quiet performance in the spring carnival with a well earned victory in this race. Rain Drum and Bel Thor both came through to finish second and third respectively. The event shares the same date and the same stage with the Group 3 Sundown Classic which should complete a remarkable line up at the Sundown Racecourse.

The 2013 edition of the race was held at Caulfield racecourse over 2000M due to repair works at the Sundown racecourse. Generally, the Eclipse Stakes is seen as a great stage for middle distance runners to close the spring carnival on the high. The event suits horses that have run long distances before or sprinters looking to test their capabilities over relatively longer courses. The best lead up for this race is the Group 3 Matriarch Stakes which is held at the Flemington Racecourse a few weeks earlier.

A number of high profile horses have emerged from this race. In 2003 for example, Zazzman emerged from a hard fought victory in the Eclipse Stakes to take home the Group 3 Queen Elizabeth Stakes. In 2001, Omagh took home the Eclipse Stakes and did exemplary well to also win the WS Cox Plate. For horse racing fans keen on middle distance races, the Eclipse Stakes will be a great pick especially because it is one of the few high profile races in the Melbourne Spring Carnival.

Eclipse Stakes recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2013 Mouro Rain Drum Bel Thor 1:50.3
2012 Eclair Surprise Tai Tai Tess Shewan 1:49.6
2011 Rothera Folding Gear Ulundi 1:52.1
2010 Viking Hero Davcon Niblick 1:55.2
2009 Bashful Girl Rose Syrah Down Under Boy 1:49.8
2008 Eskimo Dan Instructor Sentire 2.15:5
2007 Like It Is Shinzig Hidden Strings 1:50.4
2006 Utility Douro Valley Flash Trick 1:52.0
2005 Aqua D’Amore Stamen Wild Classic 2:14.5
2004 Requisite Fonome Caveat Emptor 1:49.6
2003 Zazzman Chairman’S Choice You Little Beaut 2:03.8
2002 Damaschino Another Warrior British Buska 2:02.1
2001 Fields Of Omagh Thong Classic Aquiver 2:11.1
2000 Tickle My The Collector Aka Bilk 2:07.0
1999 Taberann Jaimestown Sly Sandra 2:10.2
1998 Prime Address Zerpour Make A Scene 2:11.6
1997 Burning Embers Miss Tessia Maximai 2:02.7
1996 Gold City Hurricane Storm Tristolier 2:10.7
1995 Broann Top Rating Circles Of Gold 2:10.9
1994 Innocent King Bon Precieux Idea 2:02.2
1993 Palareign Corndale Southern States 2:03.7
1992 Fraar Excited Angel Beret Rouge 2:07.6
1991 Luisant Bijou Gamine Pressman’S Choice 2:01.5
1990 Gamine Eastern Classic City Gossip 2:11.7
1989 Eastern Classic Akatarawa Cool Rocking Daddy 2:01.1
1988 Super Impose Crown Ridge Be Reasonable 2:11.6