Doncaster Prelude

Doncaster Prelude

Doncaster Prelude

Date: Saturday 28th March 2015
Track: Rosehill racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1600 metres
Race Type: 3yo & Up
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $125,000
2014 Winner: Weary

The Doncaster Prelude is an exclusive 3yo and above Group 3 race that takes center stage every year in April at Sydney’s Rosehill Racecourse in New South Wales. The event is run over a middle distance of 1600M and often attracts more than handy and above average horses. The Doncaster Prelude is worth $125,000 in prize money and last year, the race showcased some remarkable and exciting racing. In the end, Skyerush edged it closely ahead of Alma’s Fury and Illo in second and third respectively to claim the 2013 Doncaster Prelude title.

For the better part of its rich history, the Doncaster Prelude has been a great venue for horse racing enthusiasts looking for quality racing and based on this, the race was elevated to a Group 3 event for the 2010-11 season. Ever since, the event has grown to become one of the major Group 3 races in the Sydney Autumn. The Doncaster Prelude features on the same day as the Group 1 Golden Slipper Stakes and the Group 1 The BMW which is a perfect line-up for an exciting day of racing.

The best progression for horses that perform well in the Doncaster Prelude is the Doncaster Handicap which takes place a week later at Sydney’s Randwick Racecourse. Lead up races for these events include the Group 3 Newcastle Newmarket Handicap and the Group 2 Ajax Stakes. Both these races are run under similar conditions and horses that perform well in these events tend to replicate the same success in the Doncaster Prelude.

A number of quality horses have featured in the race. One of the major performers to take part in the Doncaster Prelude was Brilliant Light in 2010 who came second on the Newcastle Newmarket Handicap on course towards victories in the Doncaster Prelude and the Ajax Stakes. Other horses to win the Doncaster Prelude include My Kingdom of Fife in 2011 and First Clip in 2012.

Doncaster Prelude recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Weary Leebaz I’m Imposing 1:31.4
2013 Skyerush Pipette Illo 1:36.1
2012 Fast Clip Speediness Alma’s Fury 1:35.2
2011 My Kingdom Of Fife Hidden Wonder Bold Glance 1:34.8
2010 Brilliant Light Gold Water Snapy Halo 1.35:7