Doncaster Handicap

Doncaster Handicap

Doncaster Handicap

Date: Saturday 4th April 2015
Track: Randwick racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1600 metres
Race Type: Open Handicap
Status: Group 1
Prizemoney: $3,000,000
2014 Winner: Sacred Falls

The Doncaster Handicap is one of the major Group 1 Race that features every year in the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival. The race takes place in April at the Randwick Racecourse in Sydney, New South Wales. The Doncaster Handicap comes with a tag of $3 million in Prize money and is run over a distance of 1600M. Sacred Falls took the Doncaster Handicap in 2013 with Pierro and Norzita taking second and third in that order.

The Doncaster Handicap is one of the featured championship races in this year’s Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival. The massive price money is set to attract a lot of strong and competitive mares. For the better part of the last decade, the Doncaster Handicap has been one of the major highlights in the Randwick racing Carnival. The race which is also known as the Doncaster Mile is regarded by many trainers and horse owners as one of the toughest and most thrilling 1600M race in the Australian horse racing calendar.

The Doncaster Mile has been one of the most competitive races and it is always not easy to determine an outright winner until they cross that finish line. The race is often curtain raised by the Epsom Handicap at the Randwick Racecourse. The Racing To Win was the last mare to win both the Epsom Handicap and the Doncaster Mile double in 2006.

Other notable mares that have shown great performances at the Doncaster Handicap include Vision and Power in 2013, Haradasun 2009, Love Conquers All in 2007 and Grand Armee in 2003. The Doncaster Handicap is one of the major feature races in the Sydney Autumn Carnival in 2014. The race is one of the most expensive ones in Australian Horse racing and promises a whole new level of thrilling and exciting racing for everyone.

Doncaster Handicap recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Sacred Falls Royal Descent Weary 1:39.5
2013 Sacred Falls Pierro Norzita 1:37.9
2012 More Joyous Shoot Out Yosei 1:35.5
2011 Sacred Choice Love Conquers All Bold Glance 1:39.4
2010 Rangirangdoo Road To Rock Brilliant Light 1:34.2
2009 Vision And Power Black Piranha Whobegotyou 1:36.6
2008 Triple Honour Casino Prince Pinnacles 1:38.6
2007 Haradasun Mentality Divine Madonna 1:38.0
2006 Racing To Win Johan’s Toy Bentley Biscuit 1:34.1
2005 Patezza Court’s In Session Danni Martine 1:35.9
2004 Private Steer Grand Armee Ambulance 1:35.5
2003 Grand Armee Dash For Cash Boreale 1:36.8
2002 Sunline Shogun Lodge Defier 1:35.2
2001 Assertive Lad Shogun Lodge Weasel Will 1:35.9
2000 Over Sunline Zastov 1:35.0
1999 Sunline Lease Juggler 1:36.4
1998 Catalan Opening Juggler Iron Horse 1:38.0
1997 Secret Savings All Our Mob Ravarda 1:35.5
1996 Sprint By Danasinga Juggler 1:35.4
1995 Pharaoh Aunty Mary Brave Warrior 1:38.0
1994 Pharaoh Kingston Bay Telesto 1:38.2
1993 Skating Soho Square Gifted Poet 1:34.0
1992 Soho Square Old Role Prince Sallieri 1:35.7
1991 Super Impose Royal Creation Shaftesbury Avenue 1:36.5
1990 Super Impose Shaftesbury Avenue Our Grey Invader 1:38.4
1989 Merimbula Bay Tjarra Lygon Arms 1:34.7
1988 Lygon Arms Sound Horizon Our Waverley Star 1:37.2