Crystal Mile


Crystal Mile

Date: Saturday 24th October 2015
Track: Moonee Valley racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1600 metres
Race Type: Weight-for-age
Status: Group 2
Prizemoney: $200,000
2014 Winner: Hooked

The Crystal Mile is a classic mile race run over 1600M at the Moonee Valley racecourse in Melbourne, Victoria. The event is worth up to $200,000 in prize money and is run under weight for age conditions every year. The 2013 edition of this race was taken by Toydini after outclassing a number of able competitors including second placed Speediness. Sacred Falls had to settle for third. Until 2012, the Crystal Mile was actually an open handicap race before it was changed to weight for Age.

The event takes center stage on the same day as the WS Cox Plate- the most prestigious race held at the Moonee Valley Racecourse. For the better part of the last few decades, the Crystal Mile has grown to become one of the most prominent mile races in the Melbourne Spring. The Group 1 Toorak Handicap is always a typical build up for this event. Horses that perform well in the race can also consider taking on the Group 1 Emirates Stakes which comes a few weeks later.

Although in recent years not many horses have managed to win the Crystal Mile and the Emirates Stakes or The Toorak Stakes double, last year Speediness came so close after running second in the Crystal Mile on course towards a respectable third place finish in the Emirates Stakes. The Crystal Mile does not assemble elite and high profile milers and in most cases the event would be won by an above average horse experienced in Group 2 or Group 3 races. However, the champions that have emerged from this race in recent years have showcased outstanding capabilities most of who have even won a number of high profile Group 1 races.

Gathering for example finished sixth in the 2011 edition of the Crystal Mile before producing a remarkable run to claim the spoils in the Group 1 Railway Stakes. In 2009, All American won the Emirates Stakes just a few weeks after running third in the Crystal Mile. Orange County in 2008 was also on hand to claim the Group 1 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes after running second in the Crystal Mile. Based on these examples it is very clear that the Crystal Mile is a race rich in talent and should be a great pick for horse racing fans across the country.

Crystal Mile recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Hooked Bull Point Desert Jeuney 1:34.9
2013 Toydini Speediness Sacred Falls 1:36.0
2012 Silent Achiever Rangirangdoo Solzhenitsyn 1:35.6
2011 Testa My Patience Hawks Bay He’s Remarkable 1:36.7
2010 Sound Journey Trader Drumbeats 1:36.7
2009 Rangirangdoo Sound Of Nature All American 1:34.9
2008 Sea Battle Conquering Orange County 1:36.3
2007 Sonic Quest Orange County Tears I Cry 1.35.9
2006 Flash Trick New Edge Rockford Bay 1:37.2
2005 Niconero Cargo Cult Miss Potential 1:39.4
2004 Lad Of The Manor Lord Mick Sir Dex 1:37.0
2003 Rosina Lad Walk On Air Archave 1:38.3
2002 Royal Code Weasel Will Excellerator 1:36.5
2001 Weasel Will Le Zagaletta Typhoon 1:37.3
2000 Weasel Will Le Zagaletta Czar Hero 1:38.7
1999 Le Zagaletta Daicos Bebetto 1:36.6
1998 Rustic Dream Corporate James Irish Air 1:36.0
1997 Holy Roller Miss Tessla Mighty Way 1:36.2
1996 Lochrae Scenic Royale Buzzoff 1:36.6
1995 Juggler State Taj Sportsbeat 1:36.7
1994 State Taj Play Or Pay Innocent King 1:35.1
1993 Carsons Cash Station Hand Mr Untouchable 1:34.3
1992 Solvit Vows Instrumental 1:33.8
1991 Fire Commander Brunchtime Gamine/Cheval C’lier 1:35.2
1990 Ark Regal Comrade Brilliant Invasion 1:33.2
1989 Fendalton High Baliff Acid Print 1:34.6
1988 True Dreams Tierra Rist Eastern Classic 1:36.9