Crown Oaks

Crown Oaks

Crown Oaks

Date: Thursday 5th November 2015
Track: Flemington racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 2500 metres
Race Type: 3yo Fillies – Set Weights
Status: Group 1
Prizemoney: $1,000,000
2014 Winner: Set Square

The Crown Oaks is a middle distance horse racing event that is held every year in November at Melbourne’s Flemington Racecourse in Victoria, South East Australia. The event is run over a distance of 2500M which makes it one of the longest Group 1 races in the Melbourne Spring Carnival. The Crown Oaks is today worth up to $1,000,000 in prize money. The race is exclusive to three year old fillies only and in its remarkable history at the top flight of Australian horse racing, the Crown Oaks has consistently showcased some of the finest and most talented middle distance fillies in Australia.

In 2013, the event was a perfect stage for passionate and pulsating racing with Kirramosa defying all odds to take home the title. Coming through in second and third respectively was Zanbagh and Solicit. The Crown Oaks is normally held a few days after the biggest race of the Carnival – the Melbourne Cup. However, the race shares the same date with the Group 1 Emirates Stakes which should be a fine line up of high quality racing.

In recent years, the Crown Oaks has largely been won by in-from or elite fillies. The event always attracts a full house at Flemington and based on the talent on show, it’s not hard to see why. The most ideal lead up for the Crown Oaks is the Group 2 Wakeful Stakes which comes around a few weeks before the race. Kirramosa became the last filly to take home the Crown Oaks and the Wakeful Stake double last year.

The Crown Oaks has nonetheless produced a number of champions some of who have made it big in other races. In 2008 for example, Samantha Miss returned from a Princess Series victory in Sydney before taking home the Crown Oaks on course towards another breathtaking victory in the Group 1 WS Cox Stakes. Other notable champions to emerge from this race include Tuesday Joy in 2006, Dear Demi in 2012 and the outstanding Magical Miss in 2008. The Crown Oaks is always an exciting prospect for horse racing enthusiasts and even this year, the event will definitely light up the Melbourne Spring in Style.

Crown Oaks recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Set Square Thunder Lady Golconda 2:39.3
2013 Kirramosa Zanbagh Solicit 2:40.6
2012 Dear Demi Zydeco Summerbliss 2:35.8
2011 Mosheen Dowager Queen Roma Giaconda 2:39.3
2010 Brazilian Pulse Shamrocker Placement 2:41.6
2009 Faint Perfume Valdemoro Savsbelle 2:37.2
2008 Samantha Miss Miss Scarlatti Allez Wonder 2:37.5
2007 Arapaho Miss Serious Speed Marjorie 2:36.8
2006 Miss Finland Tuesday Joy Anamato 2:37.2
2005 Serenade Rose Florica Danica Empress Lily 2:36.3
2004 Hollow Bullet Kylikwong Storm Alert 2:31.2
2003 Special Harmony Dane Belltar Timbourina 2:39.0
2002 Bulla Borghese Lashed Antique 2:36.3
2001 Magical Miss Manang Li Lo Lill 2:34.7
2000 Lovelorn Lan Kwai Fong Lolita Star 2:35.3
1999 Tributes My Sienna Shizu 2:34.3
1998 Grand Archway Rose OWar Zazabelle 2:37.7
1997 Kensington Palace Only A Lady Kilmore Quay 2:41.3
1996 My Brightia Danendri Derobe 2:35.9
1995 Saleous Arctic Scent Pontal Lass 2:39.6
1994 Northwood Plume Wild Thunder Captive 2:37.7
1993 Arborea Oaks Day Give Me A Buzz 2:38.9
1992 Slight Chance Mahaya Burst 2:39.5
1991 Richfield Lady Indias Dream Yodells 2:38.6
1990 Weekend Delight Whisked Triscay 2:38.1
1989 Tristanagh La Tristia Ochiltree 2:39.9
1988 Research Riverina Charm Chaleyer 2:35.8