Craven Plate

Craven Plate

Craven Plate

Date: Saturday 3rd October 2015
Track: Randwick racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 2000 metres
Race Type: Weight-for-age
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $125,000
2014 Winner: Moriarty

The Craven Plate is a weight for age middle distance race that takes place during the Sydney Spring Racing Carnival. The Group 3 race is run over 2000M and is held at Sydney’s Randwick Racecourse in New South Wales every year in September. The 2013 winner of the Craven Plate was Honorius and even though Masked Marvel also put up a great performance, the horse had to settle for second. Coming through in third was Vaquera.

For the better part of its history, the Craven Plate has elicited a great deal of excitement and it always maintains a full house at the Randwick Racecourse. The race is today worth up to $125,000 in prize money and takes center stage alongside the Group 1s Epsom Handicap, The Flight Stakes, The metropolitan and The Spring Champion Stakes.

The Craven Plate is normally the final Weight for age race in the Spring Carnival and is always suitable for horses that are keen on taking part in long distance races in the future. In recent years the event has done well to assemble a number of great horses including the 2005 Champion Mummify, Yippio back in 2000 and Tie The Knot in 1999.

The best lead-up races for the Craven Plate include the Group 2 Hill Stakes or the Group 1 George Main Stakes. Horses that perform well in the race can also consider running in the Group 3 Kingston Town Stakes. The Craven Plate in 2014 is expected to showcase new and in form long distance runners and is regarded as one of the anticipated races in the Sydney Spring Racing Carnival.

Craven Plate recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Moriarty Rising Romance Vilanova 2:02.6
2013 Honorius Masked Marvel Vaquera 2:03.7
2012 Mourayan Western Symbol Dare To Dream 2:02.4
2011 My Kingdom Of Fife Shootoff Gazza Guru 2:04.3
2010 C’est le Guerre Purple Triple Honour 2:02.2
2009 Miss Marielle Nom Du Jeu Fulmonti 2:08.3
2008 Lorne Dancer Riva San Ice Chariot 2:06.4
2007 Race Not Run
2006 Cateclipse Testafiable Gawne 2:03.4
2005 Mummify Natural Blitz Spark Of Life 2:03.1
2004 Fiery Venture Restless Ain’t Seen Nothin’ 2:07.8
2003 Shower of Roses So Assertive Mon Mekki 2:02.8
2002 Manner Hill Spillway Forest Jim 2:03.9
2001 The Man Altiero Viva La Vie 1:49.8
2000 Yippyio Pravda Freemason 2:05.6
1999 Tie The Knot Arena Pasta Express 2:01.7
1998 Sharscay Yippyio Turridu 2:02.8
1997 Yippyio Magic Of Sydney Kassani 2:01.7
1996 Adventurous Saintly Donar 2:02.0
1995 Stony Bay Protara’s Bay Desert Chill 2:03.0
1994 Fraternity Silk Ali Deposition 2:03.8
1993 Mahaya Durbridge Oppressor 2:04.2
1992 Telesto Donegal Mist Captain Cook 2:02.9
1991 Lord Revenir Just A Dancer Dorset Downs 2:04.2
1990 Dual Treasures Just Trish High Regard 2:02.8
1989 Sarah Fay Coshking Final Scene 2:01.7
1988 Balciano Regal Prize Sound Gold 2:05.2