Cranbourne Cup

Cranbourne Cup

Cranbourne Cup

Date: Sunday 11th October 2015
Track: Cranbourne racecourse, Cranbourne
Distance: 2025 metres
Race Type: Open Handicap
Status: Listed
Prizemoney: $200,000
2014 Winner: Mourinho

The Cranbourne Cup is a major and highly popular listed race that is held during the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival. The event is run over a distance of 2025M making it one of the longest listed races in the Spring Carnival. With a purse of up to $200,000 in prize money, the Cranbourne Cup is always an ideal race for emerging middle distance runners to make a mark in the highest level of Australian Horse racing.

The event is staged at the Cranbourne Racecourse and in the 2013 edition of the race Pakal was on hand to take home the title after beating Sertorius and Mourinho to second and third respectively. The Cranbourne Cup is actually one of the richest Country cup racing events. The race is never short of talent and a number of horses have emerged from it on course towards greater things in the future. In 2004 for example, On a Jeune won the Cranbourne Cup and did remarkably well to finish second in the Melbourne cup a year later in 2005.

On the other hand, Barbaricus emerged from a second place finish in this race back in 2008 and then took home a respectable second place finish in the Caulfield Cup. The horse also was on hand to take the runner up position in the Group 1 McKinnon Stakes a few weeks later. The Cranbourne Cup is always ideal for horses that had earlier tackled long and middle distance races in the Spring Carnival.

The race is always full of emerging champions and even in 2012, the outstanding Vatuvei run a distant eighth in the Cranbourne Cup but did remarkably well to take home the Group 2 Moonee Valley Cup. The Cranbourne Cup might be just a listed race but the relatively bigger prize money and the rich history of this event has only served to bring in the best middle distance runners. The event will for sure be a sell out in this year’s Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival.

Cranbourne Cup recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Mourinho More than Sacred Le Roi 2:06.4
2013 Pakal Sertorius Mourinho 2:06.3
2012 Midnight Martini Streets Away Streaky Fella 2:06.8
2011 Boom N Zoom Paddy OReilly Ginga Dude 2:06.6
2010 Starmon My Bentley Tube 2:06.8
2009 Sermon Stormhill The Sportsman 2.04:8
2008 Majestical Chantal Sally 2:03.1
2007 Emerald Jack Blue Collar Jack El Pretender 2:05.6
2006 Blue Collar Jack Octrivia Professional Lady 2:06.5
2005 Show Barry Tosen Dandy (Jpn) Irish Crusader 2:04.6
2004 On A Jeune Da Capo Bedouin 2:03.4
2003 Kattavia Out Of Options Pinstripe 2:07.5
2002 Eagle Rhythm Adolescence Hail 2:03.9
2001 Bush Padre Captivator Spirit Of Westbury 2:04.5
2000 Brave Chief Yammer Figurehead 2:02.6
1999 Figurehead Ihtiyati Light Work 2:02.4
1998 Lisas Game Rover Hurricane Storm 2:06.4
1997 Sweet Delight Rover Waterford Road 2:02.9
1996 Hereditas Dancing Sun Brilliant Poet 2:03.9
1995 Waikikamukau Yes Indeed Sky Burner 2:07.1
1994 Main Strike Paxmat Will Sari Club 2:10.4
1993 Anfitrion Golden Serpent Bon Precieux 2:07.5
1992 Big Barron Malahide Stylish Twig 2:11.7
1991 Newbury Star Centro Imperial Salute 2:05.1
1990 Universal Ambition Rays Hope Charged 2:08.6
1989 Our Watchman Cosign Our Magic Man 2:11.3
1988 Celtic Spirit Toyed Algonquin Club 2:08.6