Coolmore Stud Stakes

Coolmore Stud Stakes

Coolmore Stud Stakes

Date: Saturday 31st October 2015
Track: Flemington racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1200 metres
Race Type: 3yo – Set Weights
Status: Group 1
Prizemoney: $500,000
2014 Winner: Brazen Beau

The Coolmore Stud Stakes is a breathtaking 1200M sprint race run under set weights at the Flemington Racecourse during the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival. The event was run as the Ascot Vale Stakes until the name was changed a few years back and in the history of the race, the Coolmore Stud Stakes has always provided a great stage for emerging and high profile sprinters to make it big in Australian horse racing. The event is today worth up to $500,000 in prize money.

The 2013 edition of the race was won by Zoustar after a remarkable sprint in the final few meters to beat Not Listenin’ To Me and Lion of Belfort to second and third respectively. The Coolmore Stud Stakes will feature during the Melbourne Cup day in this year’s Melbourne Spring and as such the race will feature on the same day as the Melbourne cup, the McKinnon Stakes, the Myer Classic and the AAMI Victoria Derby. The line up should be an enticing prospect for horse racing fans across the city and the country at large.

The event in 2007 was upgraded from a Group 2 Race to a Group 1 event and to this date, the Coolmore Stud Stakes has lived up to its new and elevated status in every respect as far as quality horse racing is concerned. For the better part of the last few decades, the race has done exceptionally well to attract high quality sprinters even though the prize money may not be as relatively higher as it is the case in other major Group 1 races.

The event has produced a number of brilliant horses including the Weekend Hussler who took home the title in 2007, Sepoy in 2011 and Gold Edition in 2006. The Coolmore Stud Stakes is a perfect test for three year old horses keen on making a name in other major sprint races in the Melbourne Spring and in 2014, the race is expected to be among the major highlights for fans, horse trainers and jockeys.

Coolmore Stud Stakes recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Brazen Beau Delectation Kuro 1:10.7
2013 Zoustar Not Listenin’ To Me Lion Of Belfort 1:09.2
2012 Nechita Jolie Bay Shamexpress 1:08.5
2011 Sepoy Foxwedge Satin Shoes 1:10.4
2010 Star Witness Curtana Shrapnel 1:09.9
2009 Headway King Pulse Shellscrape 1:08.5
2008 Northern Meteor Fist of Fury All American 1:10.5
2007 Weekend Hussler Bel Mer Scenic Blast 1:08.9
2006 Gold Edition Splashing Out Churchill Downs 1:09.6
2005 Ferocity Jadescent Undoubtedly 1:08.3
2004 Alinghi Barley A Moment Tirade 1:10.5
2003 Scaredee Cat Lago Delight Dilly Dally 1:08.8
2002 Innovation Girl Cool Trent Titanic Jack 1:10.8
2001 North Boy Ustinov Malagra Miss 1:09.6
2000 So Gorgeous Show A Heart Sort It Out 1:12.9
1999 Spargo Testa Rossa Fappianos Son 1:11.0
1998 Theatre City Kid Major Fun 1:10.0
1997 Show No Emotion Cornwall Queen Schubert 1:09.7
1996 Encosta De Lago Pimpala Prince My Duke 1:10.3
1995 Our Maizcay Gold Ace Strategic 1:08.2
1994 Racers Edge Blevic Cannibal King 1:09.2
1993 Brawny Spirit Bella Sereta Star Of Maple 1:11.8
1992 Quegent Primacy Just Juan 1:11.7
1991 Tierce Noble Lancer Diddy Do It 1:08.9
1990 Bureaucracy Storaia Canny Lad 1:09.1
1989 Courtza Prince Salieri Tango Master 1:10.0
1988 Zeditave Star Watch Clay Hero 1:09.1