Coolmore Stud Classic

Coolmore Stud Classic.jpg

Coolmore Stud Classic

Date: Saturday 14th March 2015
Track: Rosehill racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1500 metres
Race Type: Fillies & Mares Quality
Status: Group 1
Prizemoney: $600,000
2014 Winner: Steps In Time

The Coolmore Stud Classic is a quality Handicap Race held at The Rosehill Racecourse in Sydney. The group 1 race is designed for fillies and mares, and is run over a distance of 1500M. The Coolmore Stud Classic is worth a whopping $600,000 in Prize money. Appearance took the first place in the 2013 race ahead of Red Tracer and Norzita in second and third respectively. The winning mare on the Coolmore Stud Classic is exempted for ballot for the Group 1 Doncaster Handicap. The Coolmore Stud Classic is held alongside the Ranvest Stakes on the same day to complete a lineup of exciting racing events.

The Coolmore Stud Classic is one of the only two Group 1 races held for female horses in the Sydney Autumn Carnival. The Queen of the Turf is the other one. For a number of years, the Coolmore Stud Classic has been highly contested. A number of high profile fillies and mares from around the country battle it out for top honors making the Coolmore Stud Classic one of the most thrilling Group 1 horse race in the Australian Horse racing Calendar.

The uniformity of all female horses makes the Coolmore Stud Classic a tantalizing affair full of surprises. The race has been won by a remarkable list of classy mares including Tuesday Joy in 2007, Typhoon Tracy in 2009, and The Eskimo Queen in 2008. However, the Sunline is the only mare to have won the Coolmore Stud Classic twice in 2000 and 2002.

Such is the fierce competition in the race that very few mares have managed to triumph in different occasions. After winning the race in 2013, Appearance also finished fourth in the Group 3 Wiggle Stakes. In recent times, winners at the Coolmore Stud Classic include The Ofcourseican in 2012 and Aloha in 2011. The Race is among the most competitive ones in the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival and should be an ideal event for anyone who loves horse racing.

Coolmore Stud Classic recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Steps In Time Sweet Idea Catkins 1:28.7
2013 Appearance Red Tracer Norzita 1:28.3
2012 Ofcourseican Secret Admirer King’s Rose 1:30.3
2011 Aloha Jersey Lily Melito 1:30.5
2010 Alverta Gold Water Palacio De Cristal 1:28.5
2009 Typhoon Tracy Culminate Gallant Tess 1:29.9
2008 Eskimo Queen Hot Danish Deloraine 1:33.5
2007 Tuesday Joy Doubting Divine Madonna 1:30.7
2006 Regal Cheer Star Shiraz Mnemosyne 1:30.2
2005 Danni Martine Forum Floozie Johan’s Toy 1:29.5
2004 Shamekha Private Steer Forum Floozie 1:28.3
2003 Bollinger Lovely Jubly Galapagos Girl 1:29.5
2002 Sunline Gentle Genius Nanny Maroon 1:30.0
2001 Porto Roca Lady Mulan Belle Du Jour 1:28.1
2000 Sunline Beat The Fade Noircir 1:28.8
1999 Camino Rose Bonanova Rainbow Bubbles 1:29.5
1998 Shindig Camino Rose Stella Cadente 1:27.2
1997 Assertive Lass Hello Darl Misty Dawn 1:28.9
1996 Chlorophyll Bionic Bess Shame 1:28.7
1995 Flitter Moment’s Pleasure Aragen 1:27.7
1994 Kapchat Mahoenui Lass Flitter 1:31.4
1993 Skating Lovey Tarare 1:29.4
1992 Acushia Marie Let’s Hurry Mamzelle Perdu 1:29.7
1991 Quicksilver Cindy Whisked Dual Treasures 1:28.8
1990 Happy Sailing Phillipa Rush A Little Kiss 1:29.9
1989 Red Express Swiftsynd Twining 1:32.0
1988 Strawberry Fair Glory Girl Dinky Flyer 1:29.2