Concorde Stakes

Concorde Stakes

Concorde Stakes

Date: Saturday 5th September 2015
Track: Randwick racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1000 metres
Race Type: 3yo & Up – Set Weights + Penalty
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $125,000
2014 Winner: Wouldnt It Be Nice

The Concorde Stakes is one of the quality handicap races in the Sydney Spring. The Group 3 race is exclusive for three year olds and above only and is held in early September or late August at Sydney’s Randwick Racecourse in New South Wales. The Concorde Stakes is a perfect sprint event run over 1000M and has always showcased some of the best sprint talents over the last decade or so. The 2013 edition of the Concorde Stakes was won by Decision Time after a compelling run to beat Sessions to second.

Delago Bolt came through in third in what was one of the best sprint races in the history of the Concorde Stakes. The event today is worth $125,000 in prize money and is held along with the Group 2 Chelmsford Stakes, The Furious Stakes and the Group 3 Tramway Quality Handicap on the same day. The Concorde Stakes has enjoyed great success in its history and the event has always assembled classy and quality sprinters from across the country.

A number of notable three year olds have managed to win the event. Some of the talented champions to emerge from the Concorde Stakes include Typhoon Zed in 2008, Reward For Effort in 2010 and The Private Steer back in 2003. Three year-olds that perform well in the Concorde Stakes can consider running in the Group 2 Theo Marks Stakes or the Group 3 Cameron Handicap. Both of these races come later in the carnival.

The Group 2 race The Shorts is also a perfect progression for the Concorde Stakes and even though no horses in recent years have managed a Concorde Stakes and The Shorts double, Last year Sessions did exemplary well to cap a second placed finish in the Concorde Stakes with a remarkable victory in The Shorts. Other major winners in the Concorde Stakes include Phoenix Park in 2001, Race Not Run back in 2007, and The Red Oog in 2005.

Concorde Stakes recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Wouldnt It Be Nice Nuclear Class Rain Affair 0:59.4
2013 Decision Time Sessions Delago Bolt 0:56.0
2012 Tiger Tees Mrs Onassis Satin Shoes 1:04.1
2011 Decision Time Winter King Monton 1.02.8
2010 Reward For Effort Winter King Trusting 1:03.3
2009 Friday Creek McClintock Ahdashim 1:03.8
2008 Typhoon Zed Raheeb Hurried Choice 1:03.4
2007 Race Not Run
2006 Mustard Regal Cheer Fox Lake 1:03.5
2005 Red Oog Dance The Waves Spark Of Life 1:04.0
2004 Taikun Fouardee Star Of Florida 1:02.8
2003 Private Steer Strabane Gullcatcher 1:04.2
2002 Fouardee Into The Night Century Kid 1:02.8
2001 Phoenix Park Lord Essex Spinning Hill 1:03.2
2000 Condotti Palladium Star King Of Acapulco 1:04.1
1999 Guineas Life Of Riley Regulations 1:03.9
1998 Confiscate (Nz) Notoire Blazing Steel 1:05.1
1997 Armidale Siddinghausen Catalan Opening 1:03.1
1996 Race not run
1995 Victoria Park Moment’S Pleasure Avulsion 1:03.0
1994 Just Awesome Khaptingly Committal 1:02.7
1993 Deposition All Our Mob Classic Magic 1:04.0
1992 Final Card Kinjite Classic Magic 1:03.2
1991 Joanne Cavalier Fort Isle 0:57.6
1990 West Dancer Sobers Pagan Jest 0:57.8
1989 Alpine Flyer Lightning Bend From The Planet 0:59.4