Cockram Stakes

Cockram Stakes

Cockram Stakes

Date: Saturday 29th August 2015
Track: Caulfield racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1200 metres
Race Type: Mares – Set Weights + Penalty
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $150,000
2014 Winner: Gregers

The Cockram Stakes is a great Group 3 race that is held during the Melbourne Spring racing Carnival. The event is held at the Caulfield Racecourse in Victoria’s biggest city Melbourne and is run over 1200M. The Cockram Stakes is considered as one of the best sprint races especially for emerging sprinters and today, the race has a purse of $150,000 in prize money. For the better part of its illustrious history, the Cockram Stakes has produced exciting and enthralling racing much to the satisfaction of the massive crowds that grace it every year.

The 2013 edition of the race was no different and amidst all the talent and quality on show, it was Octavia who carried the day after a strong and passionate sprint to take home the title. Coming through in second and third respectively was A Time For Julia and Oriental Ruby. In this year’s Melbourne Spring Carnival, the Cockram Stakes will take the stage on the same day as the JJ Liston Stakes which should be an ideal line up for horse racing fans in Victoria.

The event is exclusive to mares only and many horse trainers look at it as the perfect build up to other major mare’s only races. Although the Cockram Stakes assembles a strong field of talented sprinters, only in-from mares takes home this title and we rarely see a surprise winner. Horses that perform well though can also take on the Group 3 How Now Stakes and the Group 2 Let’s Elope Stakes.

Although in recent years no horse has managed to take home the Cockram Stakes and the Let’s lope or the How Now Stakes double, in 2010 Response came so close after running second in the Cockram Stakes on course towards a hard earned victory in the Let’s Elope Stakes. The mare however capped a strong performance in the spring season with a remarkable victory in the Sir John Monash Stakes. The 2014 edition of the Cockram Stakes is expected to be a major pick for horse racing lovers and based on the talent and quality racing on show in recent years, it’s not hard to see why.

Cockram Stakes recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Gregers A Time For Julia Commanding Jewel 1:09.8
2013 Octavia A Time for Julia Oriental Ruby 1:11.2
2012 Lady Melksham Le Societe Glows 1:12.4
2011 Mid Summer Music Parables Anabaa’s Legacy 1:10.4
2010 Rhythm In Paris Response Lady Lynette 1:13.2
2009 Cats Whisker Annesong Flying Ruby 1:12.2
2008 Princess Gisella Mimi Lebrock Devil Moon 1:11.4
2007 Storm Signal Universal Queen Juste Momente 1:09.6
2006 Storm Alert Sorenstam Doubting 1:10.3
2005 Dea Pretty Penny Sarah Michelle 1:14.5
2004 Strikeline Beautiful Gem Rinky Dink 1:11.9
2003 Brief Embrace Royal Sash Ain’t Seen Nothin 1:11.9
2002 Pernod Calming Miss La La 1:09.6
2001 Libidinious Poppett Tickle My 1:13.2
2000 Tickle My Piavonic Monterosso 1:12.2
1999 Chillies Zapeace Follow Gold 1:13.4
1998 Spectrum Chillies Sweet Delight 1:15.7