Chipping Norton Stakes

Chipping Norton Stakes.jpg

Chipping Norton Stakes

Date: Saturday 28th February 2015
Track: Warwick Farm racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1600 metres
Race Type: Weight-for-age
Status: Group 1
Prizemoney: $500,000
2014 Winner: Boban

The chipping Norton Stakes is a weight-for-age race that features at the Warwick Farm Racecourse in March every year. The group 1 race is run over a distance of 1600M and has a tag of $500,000 in prize money. The race is among some of the most exciting events on the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival Schedule. The chipping Norton Stakes this year was claimed by Boban. It’s a Dundeel and Hawkspur came second and third respectively.

Winning the Chipping Norton Stakes comes with a number of benefits aside from the money. Winners of this event don’t have to worry about the ballot for the Doncaster Handicap and the Sydney Cup as they are exempted automatically. The race is viewed as the premier Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival at The Warwick Farm Racecourse. The Chipping Norton Stakes has produced some of the best mares in Australian racing.

The Shoot-Out in 2013 is one of the major horses that made a name through this race. Others include The Super Impose in 1992, Lonhro in 2003, Juggler in 1996, and the Octagonal in 1997. However, Tie The Knot is the most successful horse in the Chipping Norton Stakes having won the race four consecutive times between 1999 and 2003. The main curtain raiser and guide for this race has been the Group 2 Apollo Stakes.

A number of horses have also claimed both the Apollo Stakes and The Chipping Norton Stakes the same year including Tuesday Joy in 2008 and The Grand Armee in 2005. The Chipping Norton Stakes features along the Group 2 Surround Stakes, The Wiggle Stakes and the Group 3 Liverpool City Cup in the Sydney Autumn. For the last few years, the race has attracted a number of top class mares and is always a good ground for exciting and breathtaking horse racing.

Chipping Norton Stakes recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Boban It’s A Dundeel Hawkspur 1:38.1
2013 Shoot Out Monton Danleigh 1:35.8
2012 Shoot Out Danleigh Trusting 1:37.4
2011 Danleigh Centennial Park Sacred Choice 1:35.7
2010 Theseo Rangirangdoo Danleigh 1:37.4
2009 Tuesday Joy Vision And Power Gallant Tess 1:34.8
2008 Casino Prince Tuesday Joy Sniper’s Bullet 1:36.4
2007 He’s No Pie Eater Desert War Mentality 1:37.6
2006 Desert War Eremein Ike’s Dream 1:36.3
2005 Grand Armee Court’s In Session Winning Belle 1:35.4
2004 Starcraft Ambulance Gentle Genius 1:40.8
2003 Lonhro Shogun Lodge Dress Circle 1:37.9
2002 Tie The Knot Freemason Universal Prince 1:37.3
2001 Tie The Knot Dottoressa Referral 1:35.8
2000 Tie The Knot Adam Staging 1:37.7
1999 Tie The Knot Forgotten Hero Darazari 1:37.6
1998 Encounter Our Air Filante 1:36.7
1997 Octagonal Juggler Dupain 1:36.3
1996 Juggler March Hare The Penny 1:36.1
1995 Pharaoh Air Seattle Big Dreams 1:38.2
1994 Telesto Clearly Chosen Burst 1:36.4
1993 Kingston Bay Kinjite Planet Ruler 1:36.3
1992 Super Impose Quick Score Kinjite 1:35.0
1991 Super Impose Royal Creation Dr Grace 1:36.0
1990 Dr Grace Lygon Arms Billy Asset 1:37.2
1989 Flotilla Beau Zam Research 1:35.3
1988 Wong Bonhomie Rajamah 1:35.0