Chelmsford Stakes

Chelmsford Stakes

Chelmsford Stakes

Date: Saturday 5th September 2015
Track: Randwick racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1600 metres
Race Type: Weight-for-age
Status: Group 2
Prizemoney: $175,000
2014 Winner: Hawkspur

The Chelmsford Stakes is one of the main weight-for-age races in the Sydney Spring Racing Carnival. The Group 2 race is held at Sydney’s Randwick Racecourse in September every year and is worth up to $175,000 in prize money. The race is run over a sprint distance of 1600M and a number of quality horses have emerged from this event.

In the 2013 edition of the Chelmsford Stakes, Hawkspur did exemplary well to shake off a strong challenge from Beaten Up to win the title with the latter coming close in second. Lightinthenite came through in third in what was a hotly contested race. The Chelmsford Stakes is lined up a long a number of remarkable races on the same day. The race will share the stage with Group 2 events The Furious Stakes and The Concorde Stakes. The Group 3 Tramway Quality HCP completes the day’s line up at Randwick.

A lot of horse trainers and jockeys look at the Warwick Stakes as the best lead up race for the Chelmsford Stakes. In recent years, the event has assembled a list of quality and above average horses. Horses that perform exceptionally well in the race can set their sights on the Group 1 George Main Stakes that comes a few weeks later.

The Group 2 Hill Stakes is also an ideal progression and in recent years, not many horses have ever managed to win both the Chelmsford Stakes and the George Main Stakes or the Hill Stakes double. However, Trusting back in 2011 recorded a spectacular victory in the Chelmsford Stakes on course towards an easy triumph in the Hill Stakes. The Chelmsford Stakes is a perfect event for horses building up for greater success in other big sprint races that come later in the Sydney Spring or the Melbourne Spring. The race in 2014 is set to attract great racers from across the country.

Chelmsford Stakes recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Hawkspur Royal Descent Bagman 1:39.3
2013 Hawkspur Beaten Up Lightinthenite 1:34.7
2012 Danleigh Secret Admirer Lamasery 1:36.2
2011 Trusting My Kingdom Of Fife Strike The Stars 1:37.1
2010 Theseo Metal Bender Purple 1:39.6
2009 O’lonhro Miss Marielle Triple Honour 1:34.5
2008 Gallant Tess Triple Honour Kishkat 1:39.3
2007 Race not run
2006 Eremein Newton’s Rings Aqua d’ Amore 1:35.5
2005 Nevis Sir Dex Natural Blitz 1:35.7
2004 Unearthly So Assertive Niello 1:37.9
2003 Lonhro Platinum Scissors Excellerator 1:35.1
2002 Lonhro Platinum Scissors Republic Lass 1:36.3
2001 Brave Prince Zabeels Angel The Man 1:24.5
2000 Pasta Express Celestial Choir Al Mansour 1:30.3
1999 Intergaze Tie The Knot Nahayan 1:38.4
1998 Might and Power Juggler Tie The Knot 1:42.1
1997 Juggler Filante Sharscay 1:40.7
1996 Filante Saintly Nothin’ Leica Dane 1:35.0
1995 Oppressor Joie Denise Stony Bay 1:37.7
1994 March Hare Fraternity Oppressor 1:36.4
1993 Soho Square Prince Of Praise Durbridge 1:36.2
1992 Dr. Grace Quick Score Super Impose 1:36.2
1991 Stargazer Royal Creation Stylish Century 1:36.6
1990 Stargazer Super Impose Palace Revolt 1:36.9
1989 High Regard Groucho Shame On You 1:36.9
1988 Sky Chase Beau Zam Kensei 1:37.7