Caulfield Sprint

Caulfield Classic

Caulfield Sprint

Date: Saturday 17th October 2015
Track: Caulfield racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1100 metres
Race Type: Open Handicap
Status: Group 2
Prizemoney: $200,000
2014 Winner: Miracles Of Life & Bel Sprinter

The Caulfield Sprint is an eye-catching Group 2 race run under handicap condition over a sprint distance of 1100M. The race is regarded as one of the most competitive and thrilling sprints in Australia and takes center stage at the iconic Caulfield Racecourse in Victoria’s biggest city, Melbourne during the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival.

The Caulfield Sprint is today worth up to $200,000 in prize money and is held on the same day as the big money Group 1 Caulfield Cup. The race is rich in history and has in recent years provided a number of great sprinters from different parts of the country. In 2013, the event was won by Spirit of Boom after producing an energy sapping sprint in the final meters to beat Shamal wind to second. Coming through in third was Ready To Rip in what was a closely and hotly contested sprint race.

Although the Caulfield Sprint may not be one of the richest races in Australia, the event tends to attract quality sprinters. The race is considered by many horse trainers as a great build up for other sprint races that come later in the carnival. Some of the notable sprinters to emerge from this race include Rubitano who won the race back in 2002, Sepoy in 2011 and Howmuchdoyouloveme in 2012. The quality of talent on show at the Caulfield Sprint every year is always amazing.

In 2011 for example, Sepoy came from a hard earned victory in this race to claim the Group 1 Coolmore Stud Stakes. In 2009, Turffontein finished second in the Caulfield Sprint and went on to score an easy victory in the Group 1 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes. Such is the brilliance of horses that grace this event and even in 2014, the Caulfield Sprint is expected to yet again provide a stage for emerging super stars of the Turf.

Caulfield Sprint recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Miracles Of Life & Bel Sprinter =1 Bel Sprinter Shamal Wind 1:04.3
2013 Polanski San Diego Epic Saga 2:02.0
2012 Hvasstan Honorius Electric Fusion 2:03.8
2011 Sabrage Sangster Niagara 2:03.0
2010 Retrieve Almindoro Digital Fortress 2:08.3
2009 Shamoline Warrior Onemorenomore Gathering 2:03.9
2008 Pre Eminence Miss Scarlatti Paddy O’Reilly 2.04.3
2007 Pillar Of Hercules Down Under Boy Villian 2:04.5
2006 Get Square Ulfah Sir Lago 2:03.6
2005 Pendragon Headturner Replicator 2:03.5
2004 Cedar Manor Court Ricardo King Durham 2:04.5
2003 Casual Pass Our Court Face Value 2:04.5
2002 Platinum Scissors Hydrometer Aint Here 2:02.3
2001 Amalfi Grey Song Tully Zeal 2:05.3
2000 Royale Exit Hit The Roof Adolescence 2:01.2
1999 Blackfriars Chief Scout Freemason 2:04.5
1998 Lawyer Sky Heights Arena 2:04.3
1997 Brave Prince Danasuria Tie The Knot 2:03.5
1996 Mustang Ranch Tambour Ebony Grosve 2:04.4
1995 Nothin Leica Dane Catalan Opening Arctic Scent 2:05.2
1994 Punctual Destined Celtic Explosion 2:04.2
1993 Battle Hawk Waikikamukau McGuane 2:02.6
1992 River Hero Skilero Queens Choice 2:07.7
1991 Lady Purpose Star Of The Realm Barrakee 2:00.1
1990 Big Dermott Callao Star Fire Oak 2:03.6
1989 Counterfeit Ice Solid Lemarque 2:01.6
1988 Panneria Yarra Bay Oakwood 2:00.0