Caulfield Cup

Caulfield Classic

Caulfield Cup

Date: Saturday 17th October 2015
Track: Caulfield racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 2400 metres
Race Type: Open Handicap
Status: Group 1
Prizemoney: $3,000,000
2014 Winner: Admire Rakti

The Caulfield Cup is a classic open handicap Group 1 race that is held during the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival at Melbourne’s Caulfield Racecourse in Victoria. The event is regarded as one of the biggest races in the Spring Carnival and is run over a long distance of 2400M. The Caulfield Cup has a purse of $3,000,000 making it one of the richest races in the world.

In its proud history, the Caulfield Cup has grown remarkably and in the 2014 edition of the Melbourne Spring Carnival the race will share the same date with the Caulfield Guineas and the Caulfield Stakes. The 2013 edition of the Caulfield Cup was won by Fawkner after a passionate and pulsating run to beat Dandino and Dear Demi in second and third respectively. The Caulfield Cup and the Melbourne Cup are two of the biggest cup races in Australia.

The high prize money has done well to attract high quality runners to both these races and over the years, the Caulfield Cup has never felt short of talent and elite horses fighting out for the top prize. The race has been won by a number of quality horses including the Ethereal who was the last horse to win the Caulfield Cup and the Melbourne Cup double back in 2001. Northerly who won the race in 2002 and Might and Power in 1997 are also talented horses who have featured in the Caulfield Cup before. The race is always a great build up and guide to the Melbourne Cup.

The event has produced remarkable champions in recent years and Alcopop did well to win the Group 1 McKinnon Stakes after running second in the Caulfield Cup in 2012. Doriemus was also a great talent to emerge from the race. The horse recorded a remarkable double victory in the Caulfield Cup and the Melbourne Cup back in 1995. The Caulfield Cup is one of the biggest and feature events of the Melbourne Spring and if history is anything to go by, there is no doubt the 2014 edition of the race is a must see for horse racing lovers across the country.

Caulfield Cup recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Admire Rakti Rising Romance Lucia Valentina 2:32:1
2013 Fawkner Dandino Dear Demi 2:29.1
2012 Dunaden Alcopop Lights Of Heaven 2:28.8
2011 Southern Speed Green Moon Tullamore 2:28.4
2010 Descarado Harris Tweed Monaco Consul 2:35.6
2009 Viewed Roman Emperor Vigor 2:29.7
2008 All The Good Nom Du Jeu Barbaricus 2:27.4
2007 Master O’reilly (nz) Douro Valley Princess Coup 2.26.1
2006 Tawqeet (usa) Aqua Damore Delta Blues 2.27.6
2005 Railings Eye Popper Mummify 2.27.9
2004 Elvstroem Makybe Diva Grey Song 2.31.3
2003 Mummify Grey Song Distinctly Secret 2.25.9
2002 Northerly Fields Of Omagh Republic Lass 2.30.3
2001 Ethereal (nz) Sky Heights Celestial Show 2.30.9
2000 Diatribe Kaapstad Way Fairway 2.25.3
1999 Sky Heights (nz) Laebeel Inaflury 2.30.1
1998 Taufans Melody Lisas Game Tie The Knot 2.30.1
1997 Might & Power (nz) Doriemus Catalan Opening 2.26.2
1996 Arctic Scent Circles Of Gold Iron Horse 2.30.3
1995 Doriemus (nz) Count Chivas Beaux Art 2.28.1
1994 Paris Lane Alcove Tenor 2.26.5
1993 Fraar (ire) Air Seattle The Phantom 2.28.0
1992 Mannerism Veandercross Aquidity 2.34.9
1991 Lets Elope (nz) Ivory Way Royal Creation 2.30.3
1990 Sydeston Water Boatman Shuzohra 2.31.6
1989 Cole Diesel Nayrizi The Phantom 2.27.2
1988 Imposera (nz) Congressman Authaal 2.29.4