Caulfield Classic

Caulfield Classic

Caulfield Classic

Date: Saturday 17th October 2015
Track: Caulfield racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 2000 metres
Race Type: 3yo Open – Set Weights
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $750,000
2014 Winner: Fontein Ruby

The Caulfield Classic is an annual middle distance race exclusive to three year old horses only. The Group 3 race is held at the iconic Caulfield Racecourse in Melbourne, the biggest city in Victoria, South East Australia. The Caulfield Classic is today worth up to $750,000 in prize money making it one of the richest Group 3 races in Australia. The event is run over 2000M and shares the same day with another big money and competitive race – the Caulfield Cup.

The event was actually renamed for the 2013-14 season from the Norman Robinson Stakes to the Caulfield Classic and with it came a massive boost in the prize money. The changes are expected to make the race a big event in the coming few years with a strong show of high profile and elite middle distance runners from different parts of the country. The race is a perfect build up for the AAMI Victoria Derby given the fact that these two races are run over more or less the same distance.

The Geelong Classic is also an ideal progression for three year olds who contest this event. The Group 2 Stutt Stakes is a great lead up for this race and in recent years, the Caulfield Classic has largely been taken by a high quality three year old as opposed to an above average surprise winner. In addition to this, the Caulfield Classic is also open to three year old horses who have handled 2000M or above distance races before.

Polanski was the proud winner of the 2013 edition of the Caulfield Classic after doing remarkably well to shake off a strong challenge from other able opponents. Coming through to take second and third respectively was San Diego and Epic Saga. Sangster came so close to completing a Caulfield Classic and AAMI Victoria Derby double after running second in the former on course towards an easy win in the latter. Other notable three year olds to take part in the race include Retrieve back in 2010, Pre Eminence in 2008 and the Outstanding Pendragon back in 2005.

Norman Robinson Stakes recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Fontein Ruby Crafty Firehouse Rock 2:03.8
2013 Polanski San Diego Epic Saga 2:02.0
2012 Hvasstan Honorius Electric Fusion 2:03.8
2011 Sabrage Sangster Niagara 2:03.0
2010 Retrieve Almindoro Digital Fortress 2:08.3
2009 Shamoline Warrior Onemorenomore Gathering 2:03.9
2008 Pre Eminence Miss Scarlatti Paddy O’Reilly 2.04.3
2007 Pillar Of Hercules Down Under Boy Villian 2:04.5
2006 Get Square Ulfah Sir Lago 2:03.6
2005 Pendragon Headturner Replicator 2:03.5
2004 Cedar Manor Court Ricardo King Durham 2:04.5
2003 Casual Pass Our Court Face Value 2:04.5
2002 Platinum Scissors Hydrometer Aint Here 2:02.3
2001 Amalfi Grey Song Tully Zeal 2:05.3
2000 Royale Exit Hit The Roof Adolescence 2:01.2
1999 Blackfriars Chief Scout Freemason 2:04.5
1998 Lawyer Sky Heights Arena 2:04.3
1997 Brave Prince Danasuria Tie The Knot 2:03.5
1996 Mustang Ranch Tambour Ebony Grosve 2:04.4
1995 Nothin Leica Dane Catalan Opening Arctic Scent 2:05.2
1994 Punctual Destined Celtic Explosion 2:04.2
1993 Battle Hawk Waikikamukau McGuane 2:02.6
1992 River Hero Skilero Queens Choice 2:07.7
1991 Lady Purpose Star Of The Realm Barrakee 2:00.1
1990 Big Dermott Callao Star Fire Oak 2:03.6
1989 Counterfeit Ice Solid Lemarque 2:01.6
1988 Panneria Yarra Bay Oakwood 2:00.0