Canterbury Stakes

Canterbury Stakes.jpg

Canterbury Stakes

Date: Saturday 7th March 2015
Track: Randwick racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1300 metres
Race Type: Weight-for-age
Status: Group 1
Prizemoney: $500,000
2014 Winner: Appearance

The Canterbury Stakes is a weight-for-age Race run over a 1400m distance. The group 1 race is held in March every year at the Sydney’s Randwick Racecourse. The Canterbury Stakes is worth $350,000 in Prize money and for quite some years now it has remained one of the major highlight events at the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival.

Pierro is the current Canterbury Stakes champion. More joyous and The Solzhenitsyn came second and third respectively in the 2013 showdown. In September 2012, The Canterbury Stakes was elevated from a group 2 race to a group 1 event. Ever since, the race has presented a thrilling show for horse racing enthusiasts in Australia and beyond. In most cases, the Canterbury Stakes attracts the above average horses.

However, topliner mares have also featured in some occasions and actually triumphed in the expense of others. In the 2011-12 season, the Gai Waterhouse mare More Joyous was one of the topliners to claim the Canterbury Stakes. The George Ryder Stakes is regarded as one of the best lead up races to the Canterbury Stakes.

In 2012, Pierro became the last mare to win the Canterbury Stakes and the George Ryder Double. The Canterbury Stakes has seen some breathtaking racing from some of the top mares in Australia and in the 2014 Sydney Racing Carnival, there is no doubt this is one of the races a lot of people are looking forward to. The Canterbury Stakes will feature alongside the exciting Randwick Guineas on the same day which should be an interesting prospect for horse racing enthusiasts.

Canterbury Stakes recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Appearance Not Listenin’Tome Red Tracer 1:17.2
2013 Pierro More Joyous Solzhenitsyn 1:15.9
2012 More Joyous Monton Metal Bender 1:18.4
2011 More Joyous Love Conquers All Demerit 1:17.8
2010 Hot Danish Black Piranha Mr Baritone 1:16.4
2009 All Silent Forensics Royal Discretion 1:16.5
2008 Mentality Racing To Win Sniper’s Bullet 1:32.3
2007 Malcolm Cheeky Choice Kosi Bay 1:16.5
2006 Paratroopers Patezza Dance Hero 1:16.2
2005 Dance Hero Falkirk Ike’s Dream 1:17.0
2004 Yell Grand Armee True Glo 1:16.0
2003 Defier Cosmic Rays Gordo 1:09.1
2002 Empire Diamond Dane Shogun Lodge 1:10.3
2001 Shogun Lodge Assertive Lad El Mirada 1:10.0
2000 Easy Rocking Referral Guineas 1:11.5
1999 Kidman’s Cove Prowl Shinkansea 1:09.7
1998 Quick Flick Guineas Masked Party 1:09.8
1997 All Our Mob Quick Flick Sovereign State 1:08.4
1996 Sprint By Peruzzi Identikit 1:10.5
1995 Miss Kariba Alert Me Navy Seal 1:09.9
1994 Al Akbar Big Dreams Just Awesome 1:10.3
1993 Big Dreams Cavalier Spearman 1:11.8
1992 Alishan Schillaci Old Role 1:09.6
1991 Show County All Archie Zabeel 1:09.8
1990 Straussbrook Cole Diesel Groucho 1:11.8
1989 At Sea Campaign King Groucho 1:10.3
1988 At Sea Targlish Prince Anton 1:10.0