Bobbie Lewis Quality

AJ Moir Stakes

Bobbie Lewis Quality

Date: Saturday 12th September 2015
Track: Flemington racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1200 metres
Race Type: Quality Handicap
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $200,000
2014 Winner: Chautauqua

The Bobbie Lewis Quality is one of the richest Group 3 race in the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival with a purse of up to $200,000 in prize money. The event is held annually at the iconic Flemington Racecourse in Melbourne Victoria, South East Australia. The event is a perfect sprint run over 1200M under handicap condition and over the last few years, the race has impressed remarkably with the level of intensity and thrill associated with it. The 2013 edition of the Bobbie Lewis Quality was outstanding to say the least.

Speediness in the end carried the day after producing a remarkable sprint to take home the title. Temple of Boom had to settle for second despite a strong run by the horse with Albrecht coming through to take third place. In the 2014 Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival the Bobbie Lewis Quality will share the same date and the same stage with a number of high profile and exciting races. Some of these races include the Group 2 Makybe Diva Stakes, The Let’s Elope Stakes and the Dane Hill Stakes.

The Bobbie Lewis Quality is considered as one of the high energy and intense sprint race especially because it’s run over a straight stretch at the Flemington racecourse. Horses that perform well in this race can consider running in the Group 1 Sir Rupert Clarke Stake. Some remarkable sprinters have in recent years graced the Bobbie Lewis Quality.

We’re Gonna Rock came so close to a Bobbie Lewis Quality and Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes double in 2012 after taking home the former on course towards a second place finish in the latter. In the same year, second placed Spirit of Boom did well to finish runner up in the Group 2 Gilgai Stakes and the Group 2 Salinger Stakes. The talent on show every year at Bobbie Lewis Quality is always amazing and other notable horses to win this race include Lone Rock who won it in 2011, Swift Alliance in 2009, and the outstanding Scenic Peak back in 2001.

Bobbie Lewis Quality recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Chautauqua Temple Of Boom In Cahoots 1:08.1
2013 Speediness Temple Of Boom Albrecht 1:09.4
2012 We’re Gonna Rock Spirit Of Boom Title 1:10.8
2011 Lone Rock Bel Sprinter Danzylum 1:08.8
2010 Doubtful Jack Beltrois About Ready 1:11.4
2009 Swift Alliance Gold Salute Chasm 1:09.9
2008 Bon Hoffa Grand Duels Orange County 1:09.8
2007 Bon Hoffa Swick Flash Trick 1:10.3
2006 Bel Danoro Perfectly Ready Volitant 1:09.6
2005 Wildly Calveen Classiconi 1:09.3
2004 Face Value Via De Lago Scaredee Cat 1:11.0
2003 Titanic Jack Bomber Bill The Big Chill 1:09.8
2002 Chong Tong Rubitano Royal Code 1:10.9
2001 Scenic Peak Calm Smytzer =2 Dash For Cash =2 1:06.7
2000 Ruthless Tycoon Porto Roca Manner Hill 1:12.5
1999 Le Zagaletta Bonotto Delirious 1:10.3
1998 El Mirada Rock You Mighty Way 1:10.1
1997 Great Condor Rck You Cut Up Rough 1:08.7
1996 Temperate Pug Another Excuse Matsqui 1:12.2
1995 Cut Up Rough Just Awesome Brawnt Spirit 1:08.6
1994 Hareeba Sequalo Poetic King 1:09.8
1993 Golden Sword Cocky Beau Red Hope 1:10.7
1992 Holiday Lover Alias Comberache Rare Chance 1:12.4
1991 Street Ruffian Premier Copper Rechabite 1:09.6
1990 Rare Chance Rechabite Grandiose 1:09.5
1989 Undoubted Tin Woodman Clay Hero 1:11.4
1988 Placid Ark Heavenly View Uncle Sid 1:10.4