Date: Saturday 28th March 2015
Track: Rosehill racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 2400 metres
Race Type: Weight-for-age
Status: Group 1
Prizemoney: $2,250,000
2014 Winner: Silent Achiever

The BMW is a major Sydney Autumn Racing event that is held in April every year at the Rosehill Racecourse. The Group 1 Race is a weight-for-age event that features some of the best mares in Australia. The BMW is run over a distance of 2400M with a prize of $2,250,000 up for grabs among the competing horses. The Fiveandahalfstar is the current holder of The BMW Title. The Silent Achiever and the Sungster both took second and third respectively in 2013.

The BMW is seen as the prime 2400m Race at the Sydney Autumn Carnival and is also one of the big money championship races this year. The race attracts horses from as far as New Zealand and today, The BMW is one of the most widely anticipated races in the Australian Horse Racing Calendar. There have been a number of high profile mares that have won The BMW.

The Makybe Diva is arguably one of the most outstanding mares to ever grace The BMW race in 2005. Other notable horses include The Octagonal in 1997, Tie The Knot in 1999 and, Our Poetic Prince from New Zealand in 1989. One of the major curtain raisers for The BMW has been the group 1 Ranvest Stakes. Notable horses that have claimed both the Ranvest Stakes and The BMW in one year include, Tie The Knot in 2000, Tuesday Joy in 2008 and Manighar in 2012.

However, another mare that used the BMW as a good platform to build a successful horse racing career is the Niwot. After finishing fourth at the BMW in 2012, the horse went on to claim the Sydney cup in the same year. In this year’s 2014 Sydney Autumn, The race is set to feature alongside some exciting events including The group 3s Star Kingdom Stakes, TL Baillieu Handicap and the Neville SellWood Stakes. Others include the Group 1 Vinery Club Stakes, Group 2 Tulloch Stakes and The Emancipation Stakes.

The BMW recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Silent Achiever It’s A Dundeel Fiorente 2:34.2
2013 Fiveandahalfstar Silent Achiever Sangster 2:33.7
2012 Manighar Americain Drunken Sailor 2:28.3
2011 Cedarberg Mourayan Linton 2:29.7
2010 Littorio Zavite No Wine No Song 2:29.3
2009 Fiumicino Thesio Viewed 2:34.2
2008 Tuesday Joy Princess Coup Sirmoine 2:35.8
2007 Blutigeroo Railings Gorky Park 2:26.5
2006 Eremein Railings Our Smoking Joe 2:27.0
2005 Makybe Diva Grand Armee Vouvray 2:26.9
2004 Grand Zulu Mummify Makybe Diva 2:25.7
2003 Freemason Northerly Republic Lass 2:26.8
2002 Ethereal Universal Prince Rain Gauge 2:29.3
2001 Curata Storm Kaapstad Way Giovana 2:27.7
2000 Tie The Knot Arena Showella 2:30.8
1999 Tie The Knot Intergaze Arena 2:29.0
1998 Might And Power Gold Guru Doriemus 2:27.2
1997 Octagonal Arkady Istidaad 2:27.4
1996 Octagonal Count Chivas Saintly 2:27.3
1995 Stony Bay Jeune Turridu 2:27.2
1994 Miltak Dark Ksar It’s All In Fun 2:29.5
1993 Kaaptive Edition Rough Habit Veandercross 2:27.1
1992 Heroicity Aquidity Rough Habit 2:29.1
1991 Dr Grace Shuzohra Castletown 2:28.1
1990 Sydeston Lord Hybrow Horlicks 2:38.1
1989 Our Poetic Prince Top Class Apollo Run 2:32.2
1988 Beau Zam Highland Chieftain Vaguely Pleasant 2:36.2