Birthday Card Stakes

Birthday Card Stakes

Birthday Card Stakes

Date: Saturday 21st March 2015
Track: Rosehill racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1200 metres
Race Type: Fillies & Mares Quality
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $125,000
2014 Winner: Avoid Lightning

The Birthday Card Stakes is a popular and exciting quality handicap race that features in the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival. The group 3 mares and fillies race is run over a distance of 1200M and is today worth $125,000 in prize money. The Birthday Card Stakes takes place every year in March at Sydney’s Rosehill Racecourse in New South Wales.

The 2013 edition of the Birthday Card Stakes was won by Arinosa after coming through to beat a number of strong and talented horses that included second placed Shamal Wind and third placed Miss Stellabelle. The excitement that the Birthday Card Stakes has generated in its decorated history has made this event a major highlight in Australian horse racing and on the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival, the race features on the same day as the Group 1 George Ryder Stakes and the Rosehill Guineas.

Although the Birthday Card Stakes is not considered an event for elite females, the race tends to assemble a good share of top class mares that have gone on to do well in other major races. The best progression for the Birthday Card Stakes is the Group 2 Sapphire stakes which comes later in the Carnival. The last mare to win the Sapphire Stakes and the Birthday Card Stakes double was Arinosa last year.

In 2009, Court also came close to the double after finishing third in the Birthday Card Stakes on course towards victory in the Sapphire Stakes. The Birthday Card Stakes in recent years has produced a number of good fillies. The competitive nature of the race and the equal strength of participating mares and fillies makes it a perfect showpiece for horse racing enthusiasts. Notable mares to grace and win the Group 3 Race include Zingaling back in 2011, Gamble Me in 2009 and Paraca in 2004.

Birthday Card Stakes recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Avoid Lightning Plucky Belle Aerobatics 1:11.8
2013 Arinosa Shamal Wind Miss Stellabelle 1:09.6
2012 Celts Next The Universe Divorces 1:10.6
2011 Zingaling Ladys Angel Flying Success 1:10.6
2010 Patronyme Beaded Melito 1.10:3
2009 Gamble Me Belong To Many Court 1:10.4
2008 Throne Inn Karalee Allaboutus 1:10.9
2007 Aunty Betty Absolutelyfabulous Martiniforus 1:11.1
2006 Imana Freeroller Tactfully 1:10.5
2005 Tui Song World Peace Shannon Bank 1:09.0
2004 Paraca Cataclysm Recurring 1:09.5
2003 Toast Of The Coast Fatoon Blue Suttarb 1:09.1
2002 Hot Riff Omens Palais 1:09.8
2001 Spinning Hill Call Me Lily Crestfallen 1:10.2
2000 Verdict Declared Another Misty Flickering Fire 1:11.4
1999 Toorak Snippets’ Lass Alavana 1:09.4
1998 All The Rave Graphics Just Like Crystal 1:09.8
1997 Unison Bewilder Fiddlestick 1:08.9
1996 So Keen Audimco Golden Apt 1:11.0
1995 Light Up The World Diversify Wide Berth 1:10.4
1994 Baldeen Dolly Will Do Astrolarb 1:09.9
1993 Miss Kariba Danza Dark Snippet’s Girl 1:06.1
1992 River Love Highpak River Of Destiny 1:04.3
1991 Settlers Cove Plaza Athenee Huntington Girl 1:04.3
1990 Deira Aspired Old Flowers 1:06.9
1989 Simple Tastes Twining Leica Reply 1:04.3
1988 Mother Duck Lynn’s Love Crown Hope 1:04.6