Bill Ritchie Handicap

Bill Ritchie Handicap

Bill Ritchie Handicap

Date: Saturday 19th September 2015
Track: Randwick racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1400 metres
Race Type: 3yo+ Handicap
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $125,000
2014 Winner: Manawanui

The Bill Ritchie Handicap is a premier 3yo sprint event that is held annually in September at Sydney’s Randwick Racecourse in New South Wales but in the 2011-12 season, the race was held at the Rosehill Racecourse. Run over a distance of 1400M, the Bill Ritchie is one of the major Sprint races in the Sydney Spring and last year, Boban was the proud winner in this race after shaking off a strong challenge from other equally talented horses. Beltone had to settle for second with Choice Bro coming through closely in third.

Winners in the Bill Ritchie Handicap get an exemption from balloting in the Group 1 Epsom Handicap. In the 2014 Spring Carnival the race will feature on the Randwick Racecourse along the Group 1 George Main Stakes. For many horse trainers and jockeys, the Bill Ritchie Handicap is the ideal build up for the Group 1 Epsom Handicap.

The race is often won by classy and more than handy sprinters and even though in recent years no horse has managed a Bill Ritchie Handicap and Epsom Handicap Double, Captain Sonador in 2010 came close after finishing third in the Bill Ritchie Handicap on course towards victory in the Epsom Handicap. The ideal lead-up races for the event include The Group 3 Newcastle Cameron Handicap and the Group 2 Theo Marks Stakes.

Some of the notable horses to feature in the Bill Ritchie Handicap include 2007 champion Race Not Run, McClintock back in 2009, and Drumbeats in 2010. The Bill Ritchie Handicap is one of Australia’s classic races and in its proud history the event has built a strong identity as one of the most competitive races. This year’s edition is expected to attract even classier and high quality sprinters to fight it out for honors in the race.

Bill Ritchie Handicap recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Manawanui Rock Sturdy Tougher Than Ever 1:21.7
2013 Boban Beltone Choice Bro 1:21.8
2012 Steps In Time Said Com Wild And Proud 1:23.1
2011 Thankgodyou’rehere Startsmeup Miss Keepsake 1:22.2
2010 Drumbeats Kenny’s World Captain Sonador 1:22.8
2009 McClintock Walking Or Dancing Faulconbridge 1:23.5
2008 Judged Rockwood Kiloton 1:23.1
2007 Race Not Run
2006 Coalesce New Edge Flaming 1:21.6
2005 Flaming Devil Messiaen 1:21.3
2004 Osca Warrior Utzon In a Bound 1:21.7
2003 Zabarra Britt’s Best Forum Floozie 1:22.6
2002 Zabarra This Manshood Swiss Echo 1:23.8
2001 Fouardee Defier Adamantly 1:21.7
2000 Landsighting Tie The Knot Valuate 1:21.7
1999 Brave Prince Al Mansour Stanzaic 1:23.0
1998 Bezeal Bay Deep Snip Super Crest 1:22.8
1997 Holy Roller Pimpala Son Prairie 1:23.7
1996 Mamzelle Pedrille Persian Flyer Headstrong 1:23.2
1995 Monopolize Juggler Flight To Fantasy 1:22.6
1994 Rouslan Over The Top Big Dreams 1:22.2
1993 Belas Knap Cohort Telesto/Mighty Tango 1:21.6
1992 Prince Of Praise East Ocean Friend Stormy Guest 1:22.2
1991 Rechabite Somalia Be Able 1:24.0
1990 Our Poverty Bay Remember Peter Mocha 1:22.7
1989 Royal Reel Our Palliser Black Routine 1:23.5
1988 Pleasant Flight Gold Trump Regal Native 1:22.2