Bendigo Cup

Bendigo Cup

Bendigo Cup

Date: Wednesday 28th October 2015
Track: Epsom racecourse, Bendigo
Distance: 2400 metres
Race Type: Open Handicap
Status: Listed
Prizemoney: $250,000
2013 Winner: Sertorious

The Bendigo Cup is a pulsating listed race that is held annually in midweek September at Bendigo’s Epsom Racecourse. The race is actually part of the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival and is run over a long distance of 2400M under open handicap conditions. The Bendigo Cup is today worth up to $200,000 in prize money making it one of the richest listed events in Australia. In its proud history, the Bendigo Cup has developed a strong culture of showcasing not only some of the best and raw talent in middle and long distance races but also exciting and high quality horse racing.

The Country race is staged in Bendigo City about 150KM off the city center of Melbourne. The 2013 edition of the race was an epic tale of thrilling performers with Sertorius doing remarkably well to take home the title. Massiyn and Kesampour had to both settle for second and third respectively in what was a pulsating encounter between some talented horses.

The Bendigo Cup is a major sporting event in the rural city and in fact, the race always attracts massive crowds every year. Horses that perform well in this event can consider taking on the Group 1 Melbourne Cup. For many horse trainers and jockeys, the Bendigo Cup is a great test of resilience and strength over long distances and is always a great stage for horses keen on launching themselves in other bigger long distance races.

Some fine champions have emerged from this race including the amazing Puissance De Lune who won the race back in 2012, Gallic who took the title twice in 2004 and 2006 and the outstanding Dream Peddler who was on hand to take home the Bendigo Cup title in 2010. The Bendigo Cup should be an ideal highlight in this year’s Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival especially for horse racing fans keen on competitive and grueling long distance races.

Bendigo Cup recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2013 Sertorious Massiyn Kesampour 2:30.7
2012 Puissance De Lune Practiced Fiumicino 2:27.9
2011 Tanby At First Sight Western Symbol 2:28.7
2010 Dream Pedlar My Bentley Zauberin 2:18.2
2009 Zupacool Crossthestart Daka’s Gem 2:15.0
2008 Banana Man Imvula Butwaittheresmore 2.28:8
2007 Captious Hoodlum On a Jeune 2:31.9
2006 Gallic Brindabella Home Sweet 2.31.9
2005 True Courser Belzain Garidar 2:30.3
2004 Gallic Jakodae Diamond Jake 2:32.5
2003 Western Waters Chairmans Choice Mr Prudent 2:28.3
2002 Forlorna (Ire.) Fearless Sophie Time Off 2:31.3
2001 Saboteur Betta Watch It Never Dull 2:28.3
2000 Yammer Western Outlaw Jamestown 2:34.4
1999 Majestic Avenue Jamestown Bohemiath 2:28.3
1998 Meeting Abandoned
1997 Napier Street My Satorial Northern Embossing 2:31.2
1996 Cockade Sovereign Lira The Red Man 2:33.4
1995 Double Take Broann Toil 2:28.3
1994 Ice Doctor Unsolved Seto Flowerian 2:27.2
1993 Frontier Boy Red Zaam Anfitrion 2:13.8
1992 Rasputins Revenge Awesome Mover Offshore Trust 2:17.5
1991 Stick Around Tisolde Home Show 2:14.6
1990 Jolly Good Thought Aquidity Cool Credit 2:16.3
1989 Chigarow French Icing Our Magic Man 2:16.7
1988 Bettota Bronze Knight Jolly Good Thought 2:14.9