ATC Queen Elizabeth Stakes

ATC Queen Elizabeth Stakes.jpg

ATC Queen Elizabeth Stakes

Date: Saturday 11th April 2015
Track: Randwick racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 2000 metres
Race Type: Weight-for-age
Status: Group 1
Prizemoney: $4,000,000
2014 Winner: It’s A Dundeel

The ATC Queen Elizabeth Stakes is a group 1 race that is held at the Randwick Racecourse annually in April. The event is a weight-for-age race that runs over a distance of 2000m. The ATC Queen Elizabeth Stakes is the richest horse race in the Sydney autumn carnival with a lump sum worth of $4million in prize money. In 2013, the race was won by Reliable Man while it’s a Dundeel and Happy Trails took second and third respectively.

The ATC Queen Elizabeth Stakes is held on the second day of the Sydney autumn carnival along with the group 1 ATC Australian Oaks, the Group 1 Sydney cup and also the group 1 Queen of the Turf Stakes. The event is arguably one of the major highlights of this year’s Sydney autumn and is set to attract a lot of crowds. The huge sum in prize money is surely expected to bring onboard the best trainers and horse owners.

The ATC Queen Elizabeth Stakes has seen some of the best races and horses in its history. Some of the best horses that have featured in it include the More Joyous in 2012, Grand Armee in 2005, Lonhro in 2003 and the Rough Habit in 1992. There are a number of exciting races that curtain raise for the ATC Queen Elizabeth Stakes. The most thrilling though include the Group 1 Ranvest Stakes, The Group 1 ATC Derby, and the Rosehill Guineas.

A number of mares have built their race success from the ATC Queen Elizabeth Stakes. The More Joyous for example claimed the Doncaster Mile and the ATC Queen Elizabeth Stakes double in 2012 which was an outstanding performance to say the least. The Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival brings a promise of exciting and thrilling events yet the ATC Queen Elizabeth Stakes stands tall among the most anticipated races in 2014.

Bet now on the AJC Queen Elizabeth Stakes

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 It’s A Dundeel Sacred Falls Carlton House 2:03.7
2013 Reliable Man It’s A Dundeel Happy Trails 2:01.8
2012 More Joyous Manighar Secret Admirer 2:05.3
2011 My Kingdom Of Fife Sacred Choice Syreon 2:07.7
2010 Road To Rock Triple Honour Monaco Consul 2:03.8
2009 Pompeii Ruler =2 Sarrera =2 Metal Bender 2:07.1
2008 Sarrera Nom Du Jeu Tuesday Joy 2:03.5
2007 Desert War Haradasun Spirit of Tara 2:04.2
2006 Eremein Aqua d’ Amore Ike’s Dream 2:02.4
2005 Grand Armee Delzao Mummify 2:02.6
2004 Grand Armee Lonhro Pentastic 2:03.2
2003 Lonhro Pentastic Republic Lass 2:04.8
2002 Defier Freemason Emission 2:04.3
2001 Shogun Lodge Go Flash Go El Mirada 2:05.5
2000 Georgie Boy Cronus Referral 2:07.7
1999 Intergaze Istidaad Sky Heights 2:03.8
1998 Might And Power Champagne Catalan Opening 2:05.1
1997 Intergaze Octagonal All Our Mob 2:01.2
1996 Doriemus Juggler Super Slew 2:01.3
1995 Jeune Danewin March Hare 2:02.9
1994 Durbridge Romanee Conti Maraakiz 2:03.9
1993 Veandercross Durbridge Rough Habit 2:01.7
1992 Rough Habit My Eagle Eye Aquidity 2:03.8
1991 Stylish Century Royal Creation Livistona Lane 2:02.9
1990 Sydeston Better Loosen Up Rajamah 2:17.0
1989 Our Poetic Prince Dandy Andy Beau Zam 2:10.3
1988 Authaal Ostensible Algonquin Club 2:13.2