Apollo Stakes

Apollo Stakes.jpg

Apollo Stakes

Date: Saturday 14th February 2015
Track: Randwick racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1400 metres
Race Type: Weight-for-age
Status: Group 2
Prizemoney: $250,000
2014 Winner: Appearance

The Apollo Stakes is one of the major events in the horse racing calendar. The Group 2 race is a weight-for-age event that is run over 1400M and is held annually every February. The Race has been a major highlight in the Sydney Autumn for a number of years now with a prize money of $250,000. In 2014, the Race was won by the breathtaking Appearance while Speediness and Moriarty had to settle for second and third respectively. The Apollo Stakes was held at the Warwick Farm Racecourse last year and even in 2014, there will be no change in venue.

The race features along the Group 3 Southern Cross Stakes in the Sydney Autumn Carnival. The history of the Apollo Stakes is decorated with some of the best horses to ever grace the Australian horse racing turf. Horses that have won the Apollo Stakes have gone on to make it big in other races across the country. Some of the notable names include Melito in 2011, Juggler in 1997, Lonhro in 2003 as well as the Sunline in 2003. The 1400M distance is perfect for classy sprinters.

The perfect lead up race for the Apollo Stakes is the group 2 Expressway Stakes that is held sometime before at the Rosehill Racecourse. The last mare to claim the Apollo Stakes and the Expressway Stakes double was the Appearance in February this year. The best progression race for the Apollo Stakes is the Chipping Norton Stakes but no horse has managed to claim the Apollo Stakes and Chipping Norton Stakes double in the same year.
The Shoot Out in 2012 was the closest to the double after claiming the Chipping Norton Stakes and runners-up in the Apollo Stakes. The Apollo Stakes has for quite some time now ranked as an ideal race for emerging mares looking to start their racing careers on the high. The excitement and the thrill in the race is definitely a plus for fans, Trainers and Jockeys in Australia.

Apollo Stakes recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Appearance Speediness Moriarty 1:21.9
2013 Alma’s Fury Tougher Than Ever Daneigh 1:27.3
2012 Rain Affair Shoot Out Danleigh 1:22.3
2011 Melito Hot Danish Centennial Park 1:22.2
2010 Danleigh Rangirangdoo Palacio De Cristal 1:22.9
2009 Tuesday Joy Hurried Choice Gallant Tess 1:25.7
2008 Racing to Win Tuesday Joy Falaise 1:24.3
2007 Desert War Mentality Eremein 1:22.2
2006 Ike’s Dream Shania Dane Desert War 1:22.2
2005 Grand Armee Court’s In Session Desert War 1:21.1
2004 Private Steer Excellerator Zanna 1:23.5
2003 Lonhro Hoeberg Carael Boy 1:22.5
2002 Ha Ha El Mirada Tie The Knot 1:23.1
2001 Sunline Celestial Choir Referral 1:25.5
2000 Sunline Adam Hire 1:27.7
1999 Kidman’s Cove General Nediym Tie The Knot 1:21.3
1998 Quick Flick Future King Masked Party 1:23.4
1997 Juggler Octagonal Circles Of Gold 1:23.8
1996 Juggler Saintly Kingston Bay 1:22.3
1995 Pharaoh March Hare Arborea 1:26.9
1994 Burst Telesto Double Your Bet 1:23.7
1993 Naturalism Kinjite Burst 1:21.9
1992 Quick Score Super Impose Not Related 1:23.0
1991 Triscay Magic Gleam A Little Kiss 1:21.7
1990 Key Dancer Groucho Chaleyer 1:22.9
1989 Beau Zam Eye Of The Sky Never Quit 1:22.3
1988 At Sea High Regard Periscope 1:22.3