AJ Moir Stakes

AJ Moir Stakes

AJ Moir Stakes

Date: Friday 25th September 2015
Track: Moonee Valley racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1200 metres
Race Type: Weight-for-age
Status: Group 1
Prizemoney: $450,000
2014 Winner: Buffering

The AJ Moir Stakes is an exciting Group 1 race run under weight for age conditions at the iconic Moonee Valley Racecourse in September each year. The race is one of the major events in the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival and is today worth up to $300,000 in prize money. The AJ Moir Stakes was previously known as the Schweppes Stakes and was in 2013 upgraded to a Group 1 race as recognition to the high quality racing the event has showcased in recent years.

The AJ Moir Stakes is run over 1200M making it an energy filled sprint contest that normally attracts a number of high profile horses. The 2013 race was nothing short of spectacular and in the end Samaready did remarkably well to take home the title despite massive competition from a number of talented sprinters. Buffering came through to take home second place while Le Bonsir was on hand to complete the final podium places in third.

For the better part of the last decade, the AJ Moir Stakes has produced remarkable champions most of who have made it big in other sprint races later in the carnival. Horses that contested the Group 2 Schillaci Stakes can consider tackling this event. Buffering was the last horse to win the two races in the same year back in 2012 while the outstanding Black Caviar also replicated the same feat two years earlier after winning the double in a row back in 2010 and 2011. The Horse would also go on and take home the Group 1 Patinack Farm Classic later in the carnival.

Horses that contested the Group 2 McEwen Stakes over 1000M are also ideal candidates for the AJ Moir Stakes. notable horses to take part in this race include Hot Danish who ran second back in 2010 on course towards a third place finish in the Group 1 Myer Classic. Falvelon also won the AJ Moir Stakes in 2000 and did remarkably well to take home the Schillaci Stakes the same year. In 2014, the AJ Moir Stakes is expected to light up the Melbourne Spring like never before.

AJ Moir Stakes recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Buffering Lankan Rupee Rebel Dane 1:10.9
2013 Samaready Buffering Le Bonsir 1:11.2
2012 Buffering Ready To Rip Thankgodyou’rehere 1:10.9
2011 Black Caviar Doubtful Jack Here De Angels 1:10.1
2010 Black Caviar Hot Danish True Persuasion 1:11.0
2009 Apache Cat Mic Mac Bank Robber 1:10.0
2008 Lucky Secret Bel Mer Mr Baritone 1:09.9
2007 Miss Andretti Gold Edition Let Go Thommo 1:10.6
2006 California Dane Let Go Thommo Poets Voice 0:58.4
2005 Virage De Fortune Miss Mooney Mooney Imprisoned 0:59.1
2004 Bomber Bill Regimental Gal Dance The Waves 0:58.4
2003 Our Egyptian Raine Spinning Hill Dantana 0:57.7
2002 Spinning Hill Bomber Bill Mistegic 0:57.7
2001 Mistegic Regal Shot Appoint 0:58.7
2000 Falvelon Notoire Super Elegant 0:59.8
1999 Magic Music Paint Spargo 0:57.5
1998 Show No Emotion Appoint Dance Beat 0:58.0
1997 Al Mansour Spartacus Ossie Cossie 0:57.4
1996 Spartacus Wry Hero Apple Danish 0:58.3
1995 Quality Gold Moss Rocket Poetic King 0:58.3
1994 Sequalo Alannon Keltrice 0:56.3
1993 Sports Works Schillaci Keltrice 0:56.5
1992 Schillaci Mookta Barcurra 0:57.4
1991 With Me Joanne Wrap Around 0:57.2
1990 With Me Street Ruffian Show County 0:56.3
1989 Clay Hero = 1 Good Old Ted =1 Prismatic Star 0:56.9
1988 Scarlet Bisque Redelva Rancho Ruler 0:58.6