Date: Saturday 24th October 2015
Track: Moonee Valley racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 2040 metres
Race Type: 3yo – Set Weights
Status: Group 2
Prizemoney: $200,000
2014 Winner: Moonovermanhattan

The AAMI Vase is an exclusive three year old only Group 2 race that is held annually as part of the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival. The event takes center stage at the Moonee Valley Racecourse in Victoria’s biggest city, Melbourne. Run over a distance of 2040M, the AAMI Vase is considered of one the high energy middle distance races. The race is today worth up to $200,000 in prize money and over the last few decades, the event has grown strength by strength to become one of the most popular races in Victoria.

The 2013 edition of the race has graciously won by the outstanding Savvy Nature who put up one of the most memorable performances of the Melbourne Spring to beat All Rigged Up and Pinstripe Lane to second and third respectively. Over the last few years, the AAMI Vase was actually known as the Mitchelton Wines Vase and in the 2014 edition of the Melbourne Spring Carnival the race will feature on the same day as the breathtaking WS Cox Plate which is the biggest race that comes at the Moonee Valley Racecourse.

For many horse trainers and jockeys, the AAMI Vase is the perfect build up for the AAMI Victoria Derby. Three year-olds that performed well in the Group 2 Stutt Stakes, The Group 3 Norman Robinson Stakes or the Group 1 Caulfield Guineas can consider taking on this race as the ideal progression from these three races. Whataboutyou was the last three year old to take home the AAMI Vase and the Stutt Stakes double back in 2008 with Helenus also completing the same success in 2006.

In 2006, Efficient produced a great performance to win the AAMI Vase on course towards a hard fought victory in the AAMI Victoria Derby a few weeks later. Since then, no horse has managed to replicate this success but Lion Tamer came so close in 2010 after finishing second in the AAMI Vase on course towards victory in the AAMI Victoria Derby. The AAMI Vase is always a great stage for high class racing and the event should be an ideal pick for horse racing fans across the country.

AAMI Vase recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Moonovermanhattan Atmosphere Go Indy Go 2:06.4
2013 Savvy Nature All Rigged Up Pinstripe Lane 2:05.0
2012 Super Cool It’s A Dundeel Viking Star 2:08.2
2011 Manawanui Collar Scelto 2:07.1
2010 Rekindled Interest Lion Tamer Hollowlea 2:07.0
2009 Hanks Spacecraft Viking Legend 2:06.2
2008 Whobegotyou Buffett Orca 2:05.3
2007 Marching Kibbutz Barbaricus 2:06.5
2006 Efficient The One Excites 2:05.2
2005 Duelled Manton Benicio 2:14.1
2004 Plastered Mr Martini Count Ricardo 2:07.6
2003 Kempinsky Elvstroem Lifes A Bounty 2:07.1
2002 Helenus Macedon Lady Wild Heart 2:08.0
2001 Ustinov Viking Ruler Pure Theatre 2:06.3
2000 Skalato Universal Prince Sale Of Century 2:09.2
1999 Diatribe Chief Scout Cloth Of Gold 2:06.4
1998 Mossman Runaway Danelagh 2:05.7
1997 Gold Guru Mustang Red Second Coming 2:06.2
1996 Alfa Intergaze Portland Player 2:06.5
1995 Donar Peep On The Sly El Qahiras Son 2:09.2
1994 Blevic Northwood Plume Wild Thunder 2:02.8
1993 Zaremba Prie Of Rancho Mahogany 2:06.1
1992 Kennys Best Pal Kaaptive Edition Shoeshine Henry 2:05.9
1991 Naturalism Green Fever Mac Robert 2:04.9
1990 Rockets Galore What A Hit Centro 2:09.1
1989 Zamoff Stargazer Lemarque 2:06.9
1988 Big Grey Roo Kings High Oakwood 2:10.4